Moving your UK domains...

Discussion in 'Domain Name Registrars' started by devolution, Nov 28, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. devolution

    devolution Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2005
    Posts:
    753
    Likes Received:
    14
    • Like Like x 2
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
     
  3. lesurf

    lesurf Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2004
    Posts:
    251
    Likes Received:
    4
    thanks very useful, that reminds me I need to move my last couple of remaining domains from UK2....

    Does anyone that if I fill the UK2 form in whether I get charged, assuming domain has no outstanding fees. They used to have a thing on their web site saying they would charge £35.00 for people wanting to move away.
     
  4. olebean

    olebean Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2005
    Posts:
    2,216
    Likes Received:
    29
    Admin

    Would it be worth making this a sticky thread?
     
  5. devolution

    devolution Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2005
    Posts:
    753
    Likes Received:
    14
    I think that's just something to catch some people out...There's no charge to move the domains away from here in my experience...
     
  6. retired_member27

    retired_member27 Retired Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2005
    Posts:
    708
    Likes Received:
    13
    I haven't used UK2.net since 2000, but I clearly remember that it's free to transfer any domains away if they have been at UK2.net for more than two years, or at least it was for me at the time.
     
  7. Motlive

    Motlive Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2006
    Posts:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Note about 1 and 1, its a bugger to transfer away from them, but you can do it all through this address (which they dont seem to advertise anywhere)

    contract.oneandone.co.uk

    A whole bunch of options in there to change the IPS Tag etc.
     
  8. revsorg United Kingdom

    revsorg Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2004
    Posts:
    157
    Likes Received:
    2
    It's over a year since I did it but I moved a domain away from uk2net by using the service at Nominet to change tags. I didn't pay uk2net an exit fee, they didn't know anything about it.
     
  9. retired_member6

    retired_member6 Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 2005
    Posts:
    5,605
    Likes Received:
    29
    Web forwarding has been down for a few hours at 123reg it might be time to move. Heart internet say wait 24 hours after tag change and it should show as transferred, in reality can that be a few minutes?
     
  10. grantw United Kingdom

    grantw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2005
    Posts:
    4,598
    Likes Received:
    80
    The TAG change is instant but then it works on the same process as registering a domain so if you're changing TAGs at 123-reg it's anyones guess how log it will take!

    Grant
     
  11. Pred

    Pred Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2006
    Posts:
    7,190
    Likes Received:
    72
    Hi Guys,
    Great thread & please admin make a sticky!
    Yes UK2 are the pits. I moved a few hundred .uk's out via nominet. Smooth as clockwork. Just did a tagchange, bulk styley. easypeasy.
    However most are still showing in uk2 account. i have sent perhaps 20 support tickets & done the live support thing (as no tel. support), still haven't done.
    pushing names is almost impossible too at uk2, their site is the worst for any registrar & simply doesn't work, plus full of security flaws. if you're not out now, get out!
    :confused: Question i have is... how do u transfer out tlds?
    I have done so many from so many other registrars but uk2 are weird.
    There is no auth code, they say they do! I have seen the page & got a little help from support.
    the way i understand it is i log in, gto the link above, on first post. enter the domain name (do one at a time). having already changed the whois for the admin contacts etc t the recieving registrar as will show uk2 presently.
    fill in the boxes & sunbmit.
    uk2 do the authcodes (noone else does this! :confused: ) then they need a form 'faxed to them'? i'm guessing for each one, but may be wrong.. which form?
    then i guess you have to initiate a transfer with the recieving registrar, i's moniker so the good thing with them is if there's big probs, the ceo Monte will actually get on the phone to them! but they need to get authcodes to do it! as do all registrars..
    you can see i understand half of it.i have done so many of these with other registrars, but uk2 are a law to themselves. this is the reason am leaving them. they make 123 look good, seriously!
    any help/advice anyone can give on transferring out tlds from uk2, i would greatly appreciate.
    thanks
    Pred :D
    nb: great idea for a thread devolution, thanks a lot! :D
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2007
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page