Domain Manage

PGP Software

Discussion in 'Nominet Tag Holders' started by Carl, Aug 3, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Carl

    Carl Member

    Joined:
    May 2007
    Posts:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    What PGP software does everyone use with Nominet? I've just got an email through about setting my PGP key. Something easy and something that works on Windows XP would be good. :)

    Any recommendations?

    Carl
     
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
     
  3. aquanuke

    aquanuke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2005
    Posts:
    2,015
    Likes Received:
    34
  4. Carl

    Carl Member

    Joined:
    May 2007
    Posts:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, do you have a direct link to the one everyone uses?

    I've downloaded gnuPG Windows, but not got a clue what to do next! :(
     
  5. grantw United Kingdom

    grantw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2005
    Posts:
    4,649
    Likes Received:
    82
  6. retired_member11

    retired_member11 Retired Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2005
    Posts:
    972
    Likes Received:
    4

    Ditto to this.
     
  7. Carl

    Carl Member

    Joined:
    May 2007
    Posts:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, downloaded and installed (virus free!) :)

    Unfortunately the instructions Nominet provided do not match the software. :( Is there any other PGP software that will match the instructions at:
    http://www.nominet.org.uk/registrars/systems/auto/pgp/

    I don't even mind if it's paid.

    Thanks again,

    Carl
     
  8. grantw United Kingdom

    grantw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2005
    Posts:
    4,649
    Likes Received:
    82
    Looking at the 'Windows PGP' instructions section of that nom page and my copy of 8.1 the instructions do seem to match, which part are you struggling with?

    Grant
     
  9. Carl

    Carl Member

    Joined:
    May 2007
    Posts:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    It doesn't ask me for:

    # Key Pair Type: RSA.
    # Key Pair Size: 1024 bits.

    I'm using the wizard..?

    Cheers,

    Carl
     
  10. grantw United Kingdom

    grantw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2005
    Posts:
    4,649
    Likes Received:
    82
    I think they are the default settings anyway. Create the key with the wizard then right click on the new key > properties, this will show you the type/size.

    Grant
     
  11. grantw United Kingdom

    grantw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2005
    Posts:
    4,649
    Likes Received:
    82
    Or, on the first page of the wizard click the 'expert' button which allows you to set those manually :)

    Grant
     
  12. Carl

    Carl Member

    Joined:
    May 2007
    Posts:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Guys,

    Thanks for the help so far.

    Having further problems Nominet are now asking for me to sign the fingerprint. So I've opened up the key, converted it to hexadecimal and went to "current window > "sign". Enter my pass code but nothing else happens? :confused:

    Any assistance much appreciated.

    Thanks,

    Carl
     
  13. aZooZa

    aZooZa Well-Known Member Exclusive Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2005
    Posts:
    4,495
    Likes Received:
    92
    Carl, are you sorted on this yet? They won't be asking you to sign the fingerprint - they'll be asking you what the fingerprint is. They usually phone you for that. Strongly suggest you use the Windows command line version of GnuPG. I can help you with that. PM me if you like.
     
  14. Carl

    Carl Member

    Joined:
    May 2007
    Posts:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi There,

    Thanks for your very kind offer, I had the choice of either sending a PGP signed message or phone. I thought it would be best to use the PGP signed message as I'll need to use it anyway.

    The Windows PGP I'm using is defintely not working properly, Nominet have recommended using:
    http://www.pgp.com/products/index.html

    Does anyone know which product I'd need? I prefer a nice GUI rather than command line. :)

    Cheers,
    Carl
     
  15. Carl

    Carl Member

    Joined:
    May 2007
    Posts:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
  16. Carl

    Carl Member

    Joined:
    May 2007
    Posts:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any ideas?

    Thanks,

    Carl
     
  17. grantw United Kingdom

    grantw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2005
    Posts:
    4,649
    Likes Received:
    82
    I think tagadmin is just used for maintaining your domains once your all setup, you still need to get your PGP stuff setup with nominet.

    Have you tested the pgp stuff to see if its working?

    If not, copy some text to the clipboard, left click the pgp tray icon, go to clipboard > sign and enter your password.

    Then paste the clipboard back into your text document.

    It should be correctly signed??

    Also, using current window > sign on the fingerprint screen is probably not going to work, you will need to copy the hex fingerprint to the clipboard and do the above, then paste the result into your email.

    Grant
     
  18. Carl

    Carl Member

    Joined:
    May 2007
    Posts:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you!!! :D It is working - I was under the impression Outlook would open - lol.

    Had this email earlier:
    Does this mean after 9pm I'm all live?
     
  19. grantw United Kingdom

    grantw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2005
    Posts:
    4,649
    Likes Received:
    82

    Indeed it does :)

    Grant
     
  20. Carl

    Carl Member

    Joined:
    May 2007
    Posts:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Smashing, thanks again.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page