Domain Manage

Quick Online Service Question - re-establish Identity?

Discussion in 'Nominet General Information' started by dtothec, Nov 6, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dtothec

    dtothec Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2008
    Posts:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Guys,

    I've just found a couple of old domains that I registered years ago, which I don't have access to on the Nominet online service because they were regged to an old postal address with an old email account (but I've been renewing them with my registrar). They are roughly 10 years old - way before the online service existed.

    Anyway, I've just updated my details for these domains on the registrar site, including my email address for these domains. Does anyone know if I will be able to access these domains through the online service once Nominet recognises my changes - or will I need to get in touch with them and pay the £10 to re-establish my identity?

    Many thanks
    Dave
     
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
     
  3. grantw United Kingdom

    grantw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2005
    Posts:
    4,649
    Likes Received:
    82
    You login using your admin email address so you should be sorted, if its a new email address (not associated with an existing Nominet account) then you may need to do a password reset to get your password.

    In fact, if it's an email address that you already use for a Nominet account you will still probably need to do a password reset to force the new domains account to show up.

    Grant
     
  4. dtothec

    dtothec Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2008
    Posts:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheers Grant.

    I have added them to an existing Nominet account - usually whenever I register a new domain, the new name takes a while to show up in the online service (it shows up as a new account with the same email, and then I can merge accounts) I just didn't know if this update would then add these domains to my account but by the sounds of your response it will :)

    Pretty pleased about that, not had proper ownership of these domains for ages!
     
  5. grantw United Kingdom

    grantw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2005
    Posts:
    4,649
    Likes Received:
    82
    Yep, there's a bug in the system, if you do a password reset it will force the new account to show up.

    Grant
     
  6. dtothec

    dtothec Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2008
    Posts:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Brilliant! I didn't know this - thanks for the tip, all sorted :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page