Domain Manage

Remove sedo parking?

Discussion in 'Sedo' started by kasabian19, Feb 21, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kasabian19

    kasabian19 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2005
    Posts:
    59
    Likes Received:
    2
    I've removed the domain from sedo and chnaged the name servers back to the teilvo ones, and forwarded the domain to another site yet the sedo parking page still comes up when i type in the address?

    Anyone? thanks.
     
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
     
  3. grantw United Kingdom

    grantw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2005
    Posts:
    4,649
    Likes Received:
    82
    It can take up to 48 hours for the nameserver changes to update around the internet

    Grant
     
  4. ScottJ United Kingdom

    ScottJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2005
    Posts:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    13
    When you update name servers it can take a few hours to propogate, try typing the domain in without www and you'll probably see it at the new server, you need to give it a few hours.
     
  5. Johnp United Kingdom

    Johnp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2006
    Posts:
    429
    Likes Received:
    9
    Just a quick note.

    Some ISPs use a 'Proxy' server to cache all web pages requests on port 80, this saves on their interconnect costs but also the benefits users in that most of the time it provides a faster response to commonly requested sites. NTL (VirginMedia) are a typical example of an ISP that does this, as user you no choice.

    The downside is that sometimes the cache can play up, I have noticed in the past that some sites parked with Sedo were not accessible, also when the page changes, because you moved parking providers the cache delivers to you the old page rather than the new one.

    Couple of things to try.

    1. Open a dos box and ping your site and confirm you are getting a reply from the correct IP address of the parking provider. You can double check the IP by pinging the nameserver. If you get the old parking provider then it because of the time delay in the propagation of the name server changes.

    2. If you get the correct IP address from the ping and suspect 'cache' problems try in the browser opening your site with a ? at the end of the domain name e.g. www.yourdomainname.co.uk/?, this should force the IPS's cache to reload the page. Finally you can manually change proxy server if you know that is likely to be the problem - further delails available if you tell me who your ISP is.

    Hope this helps.


    JohnP
     
    • Like Like x 2
  6. kasabian19

    kasabian19 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2005
    Posts:
    59
    Likes Received:
    2
    .

    Done the ping thing and it gave sedo's IP rather than telivo. changed the name serves and IP's at telivo 24 hours ago so not sure whats going on?

    ISP = im on a university campus netowkr so not entirely sure.

    never had this problem before.

    Just checked anohter site that i moved and it still goes through to sedo parking, yet the IP is telivo.???
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2007
  7. Johnp United Kingdom

    Johnp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2006
    Posts:
    429
    Likes Received:
    9
    Hmm

    Double check via a Whois lookup that the changes you made to your domain with your registrar have been actioned.

    http://www.whois-search.com/

    It can take nominet changes several hours in fact up to 48 to be propogated across the internet.

    Also try a one of the web sites that provide do a 'web ping' from their site to your domain - and confirm the ip response.

    http://www.all-nettools.com/toolbox

    It maybe the local DNS server that you routed via has not had the changes propogated to it yet.

    Hope that helps, other than that you are into manually changing the IP DNS setting on your local network connection or using a 3rd party proxy server to confirm your site is accessible.


    Cheers


    JohnP
     
  8. kasabian19

    kasabian19 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2005
    Posts:
    59
    Likes Received:
    2
    whois = telivo names and ip servers
    ping via the website link = telivo IP but says host unreachable.

    May just have to wait another 24 hours perhaps?
     
  9. Johnp United Kingdom

    Johnp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2006
    Posts:
    429
    Likes Received:
    9
    Try it again in the morning, hopefully things should be sorted. I have got a domain at the moment which I am moving between parking companies, where the local 'dos box' ping is the old provider and the 'web site' ping is the new one !

    What I normally do when trying parking providers out is to use URL forwarding (assuming they support that) from my registrar. I only change the name servers when happy with the performance of the domain. When changing name server do it early in the morning - changes happen more quickly, plus the internet in Europe is quiet and you loose fewer clicks.

    Best Regards


    Johnp
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page