round corners

Discussion in 'Website Design' started by Reg Wharf, Dec 20, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Reg Wharf United Kingdom

    Reg Wharf Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2009
    Posts:
    129
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi guys,

    Been learning css for a while now and it's taken me months to learn how to do rounded corners without images or js, but just as I've cracked it I find that
    I can't put any kind of menu on the site ie. the html works of course but completely ignores the css instructions.
    Can you help me from this short explanation or do I need to give you the code.

    Thanks,

    Mark.
     
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
     
  3. Darren United Kingdom

    Darren Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2008
    Posts:
    2,203
    Likes Received:
    12
    I think you might have to explain yourself a little more:

    Browser, code, online location to view.

    I dont think IE is supporting CSS3 properly atm.
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2009
  4. bensd United Kingdom

    bensd Well-Known Member Exclusive Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2007
    Posts:
    4,934
    Likes Received:
    51
    You will probably need to use hacks for some browsers as they all have a different level of css they support.
     
  5. tifosi United Kingdom

    tifosi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2004
    Posts:
    3,128
    Likes Received:
    45
  6. accelerator United Kingdom

    accelerator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2005
    Posts:
    7,245
    Likes Received:
    100
    You must be a big fan of rounded corners! :)

    I find the sitepoint.com forums quite good for CSS matters.

    Rgds
     
  7. Reg Wharf United Kingdom

    Reg Wharf Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2009
    Posts:
    129
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi guys,

    Thanks for the replies. I'm pretty new to website design and I knew when I started the thread I was being a bit hasty. I don't understand hacks or plugins so I think I'll just slow down and stick to what I know for now. The site is not up and running so you are unable to view it.
    Seeing that you had the courtesy to reply I'll show you the code I used:

    css

    .container
    {
    width:721px
    ;margin-left:auto;
    margin-right:auto;
    }


    .rtop, .rbottom{
    display:block;
    background:#bfe2f9;
    }


    .rtop *, .rbottom *{
    display: block;
    height: 1px;
    overflow: hidden;
    background:#b22222;
    }


    .r1{margin: 0 5px}
    .r2{margin: 0 3px}
    .r3{margin: 0 2px}
    .r4{
    margin: 0 1px;
    height: 2px
    }

    html

    <div class="container">
    <b class="rtop"><b class="r1"></b> <b class="r2"></b> <b class="r3"></b> <b class="r4"></b></b></div>

    I am using IE7

    Using this code prevents me from using any kind of css menu, it just ignores the css.

    @tifosi-been looking at those for months can't understand any of them!:confused:
    @accelerator-got a bit obsessed with them I'm afraid!:)

    Thanks,

    Mark
     
  8. bensd United Kingdom

    bensd Well-Known Member Exclusive Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2007
    Posts:
    4,934
    Likes Received:
    51
    Because the browsers don't all display css in the same way, most large sites will have a standard style sheet and one for each of the browsers displaying the site incorrectly.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page