Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.

site design - freelancer stolen idea from another site

Discussion in 'General Board' started by bu06nne, Apr 17, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bu06nne United Kingdom

bu06nne Active Member

I had one of my sites redesigned by a freelancer and received a call today from another company moaning because our site design was very similar to theirs.

To be fair, it is very similar, but what legal grounds do they have? The structure, colour scheme is exactly the same, but the contents, graphics, images, logo, etc are different.

Would this class as "passing off" ? There's only so many ways you can design a site afterall...

2. Domain Forum

Acorn Domains Elite Member

IWA Meetup

3. UncleBob United Kingdom

UncleBob Active Member

i am no legal expert, but is it a similar business / industry?

if you had two similar-ish sites both selling chalk then it might be a problem. if one's selling chalk, the other cheese, then let them moan, they can't claim any sort of "passing off" angle.

an awful lot of websites these days are looking the same and generic, so they won't get much with the argument. if you are that concerned, maybe change the shade of the colour scheme and tell them to go away.

i am assuming, of course, that the freelancer didn't simply steal the unique coding for the original site?

4. bu06nne United Kingdom

bu06nne Active Member

Thanks for the reply - they handle legal/ppi claims we handle accountancy leads... so i guess it's fairly similar?

We are changing the colour scheme, but worried that's not enough. Nope the code wasn't stolen, they were PSD files which were coded by someone else...

Cheers

5. Tricky1 United Kingdom

Tricky1 Active Member

Where did the PSD files come from, bespoke or purchased..

6. UncleBob United Kingdom

UncleBob Active Member