Domain Manage

Speed limit on Whois ?

Discussion in 'Drop catching Domain Names' started by domaingenius, Feb 22, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. domaingenius

    domaingenius Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2004
    Posts:
    1,386
    Likes Received:
    10
    Does anyone know what restrictions Nominet impose on
    the speed at which you check domains on Whois, is it 1 domain
    per second or 2 seconds ,and is there any maximum amount
    of Whois requests can be made ?.

    Thanks
    DG
     
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
     
  3. AcornDomains.co.uk

    AcornDomains.co.uk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2004
    Posts:
    1,226
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. domaingenius

    domaingenius Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2004
    Posts:
    1,386
    Likes Received:
    10
    Thanks Admin. Can I run that 24 hours a day at that speed
    or will they block me ? And what if I exceed that speed will they
    block me totally ?.
    DG
     
  5. AcornDomains.co.uk

    AcornDomains.co.uk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2004
    Posts:
    1,226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes you can run that 24x7 and yes your IP address will get blocked if you exceed.

    It happen to us once but a polite email to Nominet got us off the blacklist straight away.

    You may want to do 1 every 2 seconds to be on the safe side.
     
  6. domaingenius

    domaingenius Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2004
    Posts:
    1,386
    Likes Received:
    10
  7. newbie.co.uk

    newbie.co.uk Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2005
    Posts:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I do 2 every 3 seconds and have never been blocked. Did try 1 every second but there was a delay on the network and 20 or 30 got queued and I got blocked to the extent that each request took about 10 seconds.

    I've not have a problem with 2 every 3.
     
  8. eetc

    eetc Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2005
    Posts:
    398
    Likes Received:
    3
    Its aledged to be 1 per second over a rolling minute but this is not so. I ran a series of tests whilst tweaking where I varied the speed of requests dependant on whether I was updating my just databases or looking for recent changes. I ensured that in any 60 second period no more than 60 requests were submitted but I regularly got blocked for a coupl of hours when prodding quickly. I still average 60 per minute but I never exceed 1 per 0.9 seconds.

    C
     
  9. Rich United Kingdom

    Rich Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2004
    Posts:
    521
    Likes Received:
    5
    It is one per second averaged over a rolling minute. you will also get blocked with bulk queries of more than 5 per sec
     
  10. rking100uk United Kingdom

    rking100uk Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2004
    Posts:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    WHOIS speedlimit

    ive got 700K website addresses which have never been checked, what would be the best time interval to use for these so i dont get barred?

    And also, what would be the best program to use?

    Cheers

    rking100uk
     
  11. eetc

    eetc Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2005
    Posts:
    398
    Likes Received:
    3
    1 per second. Use something like Domain Name Analyser.

    Chris
     
  12. rking100uk United Kingdom

    rking100uk Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2004
    Posts:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    I dont suppose there is anyway that i can get a hard copy of the entire WHOIS database is there so i can cross reference my domains because if i do one domain per second its gonna take over a week non stop to find out which ones are available- and thats if if dont get banned! :S

    Anyone help me out at all here?

    Please reply/PM me if you have any advice.

    Cheers

    rking100uk
     
  13. eetc

    eetc Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2005
    Posts:
    398
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yes and no... You could subscribe to the PRSS (see other threads in the forum) but that is unlikely. Otherwise, no.

    You can lookup just under half a million records in a week at one per second, allowing for the five or so hours that Whois is off in the early morning. How many have you got? Remember once you have looked them up once you'll not need to look them up again until their expiry date.

    Chris
     
  14. rking100uk United Kingdom

    rking100uk Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2004
    Posts:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ive got just over 700,000 to look up :(

    Looks like il be spending a week doing that! O joy!
     
  15. rob

    rob Founding Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2005
    Posts:
    5,953
    Likes Received:
    68
    It still gives out data just doesnt update :) so can look up 24 / 7
     
  16. keys United Kingdom

    keys Well-Known Member Full Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2004
    Posts:
    1,304
    Likes Received:
    19
    To just check availablility you could in theory use DAC (but need to be a tagholder). The lookup rate is 216k per day, when it's working properly.

    700k sounds like big list, but I doubt the results will yield much in they way of good unreg'd names. You should find some interesting ones due for renewal or suspended, but unless you have a tag and a reasonable script your chances of catching much will be slim.
     
  17. aquanuke

    aquanuke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2005
    Posts:
    2,019
    Likes Received:
    34
    Ive got 2.4 million :razz:
     
  18. eetc

    eetc Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2005
    Posts:
    398
    Likes Received:
    3
    oops, absolutely right 24x7 lookups. Sorry.

    Chris
     
  19. s_purs

    s_purs Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2005
    Posts:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    what are you actually talking bout? i know you are searching for names that might be dropped or whatever.. but why do you have 700k names to search etc? just slightly confused.

    thanks, ben
     
  20. aquanuke

    aquanuke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2005
    Posts:
    2,019
    Likes Received:
    34
    If you have a list of words then do a search and replace to add a tld to the end like .co.uk then use an automated program to run a whois and back link check against them.
     
  21. rking100uk United Kingdom

    rking100uk Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2004
    Posts:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    @s_purs

    I have a database of names, mainly .coms and .co.uk, that i have obtained, and need to find out which ones are available etc. Hence why I am asking what the speed limit is!

    @aquanuke

    Cheers for the info mate, il give that a try!Hopefully wont get suspended from whois servers :p Do you know if I can get a hard copy (on disc) of the WHOIS database as this would save me alot of time in the future if i get more lists?

    Cheers
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page