Domain Manage

Strange

Discussion in 'SEO Search Engine Optimisation' started by kennyboy, Jan 30, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kennyboy

    kennyboy Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2007
    Posts:
    103
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi, I have a site that for some reason appears to have two url's.
    www dot sitename dot com and sitename dot com. Is this normal?
     
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
     
  3. mat United Kingdom

    mat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2007
    Posts:
    3,782
    Likes Received:
    73
    You can change in google webmaster tools how you want the site to be indexed.


    -Don't set a preferred domain
    -Display URLs as www.XXXXXXXXXXXX.co.uk
    -Display URLs as XXXXXXXXXXXX.co.uk
     
  4. joned

    joned Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2008
    Posts:
    152
    Likes Received:
    2
    If you are a bit techie, or know someone who is, you can edit your .htaccess file to sort this out - so that whether someone types the www or not, it always resolves to the same version

    IIRC it's called "canonicalisation" and is recommended by SEOs to avoid possible duplicate content issues

    A google for "htaccess canonical" brings up several articles that might be useful

    HTH

    Cheers, Jon
     
  5. dashu1 United Kingdom

    dashu1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2008
    Posts:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    14
    This is the code you need for your htaccess file:

    RewriteEngine On
    Options +FollowSymlinks
    RewriteBase /
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^yourdomainname\.com$ [NC]
    RewriteRule ^(.*)$ http://www.yourdomainname.com/$1 [R=301,L]

    Save it as .htaccess & upload to the root after replacing yourdomainname with your domain name.

    Beware to check first & see if there is already a .htaccess file there (select view hidden files in your ftp) - if there is don't upload a new one, you'll need to amend the existing one.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page