Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.

Strike.co.uk - help with making something like this

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm a bit in love with this website strike.co.uk.

I know it's built with Gatsby.js and React and Wordpress - can anybody help with this?

Is it easy to build using these technologies?

I'm an amateur coder and good with Wordpress, but do I need to know more?

Thanks

Hi @twostepsbehind
This is very achievable with no coding. ( Maybe a bit of markup (CSS) )

No need to reinvent the wheel. Just find a close match on https://themeforest.net as a starting point. Get something that has WPbakery or Elementor built in. It's mostly drag and drop and changing values from there on in. I bet you can come up with something that looks very close to what you are after.

Just amend / add to the CSS template files as you see fit.

Cheers Laz

@twostepsbehind React is a javascript frontend mostly used to build PWA or SPA applications, Wordpress would be used as the backend (PHP) to serve json over api requests, unless you have a lot of knowledge with javascript i wouldn't advise you try to use React because you could leave your application wide open to exploits given you will be serving sensitive data over an API to the javascript frontend.

I use react, Vue, and Angular a lot in development and i mostly serve a static index.html page which pulls in the react app from something like AWS Cloudfront (Serverless) and i use something like Django, PHP or NodeJs as the backend to handle the api requests... These technologies are perfect for building Mobile apps or component-driven applications which can be very overwhelming for someone new to coding.