Domain Manage

Sub Domains

Discussion in 'General Board' started by bensd, Apr 27, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bensd United Kingdom

    bensd Well-Known Member Exclusive Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2007
    Posts:
    4,956
    Likes Received:
    53
    I have been trying to set up sub domains from my control panel, and am having a few problems!

    I want to set up a sub domain so it will look like this:

    http://subdomain (.) domain (.) com

    However when i try an add a sub domain on my control panel it asks me to put in the following information

    Domain Name: Directory:
    ________ (.) domain (.) com /______________

    So when i create my subdomain an add a directory is points to:

    http://subdomain(.)domain(.)com/directory

    Any help would be much appreciated :)
     
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
     
  3. grantw United Kingdom

    grantw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2005
    Posts:
    4,649
    Likes Received:
    82
    Can't you just leave the directory field blank?

    Grant
     
  4. fred United Kingdom

    fred Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2005
    Posts:
    901
    Likes Received:
    19
    In CPanel, creating:

    subdom.domain.com with directory /subdomdir

    would mean that the site could be accessed either by going to

    domain.com/subdomdir
    or
    subdom.domain.com
     
  5. bensd United Kingdom

    bensd Well-Known Member Exclusive Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2007
    Posts:
    4,956
    Likes Received:
    53
    When i do this it doesn't come up with a directory file on my FTP :confused:

    I have tried this and still no luck. Any more ideas?
     
  6. grantw United Kingdom

    grantw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2005
    Posts:
    4,649
    Likes Received:
    82
    What control panel is it?

    Grant
     
  7. bensd United Kingdom

    bensd Well-Known Member Exclusive Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2007
    Posts:
    4,956
    Likes Received:
    53
  8. rjs_essex United Kingdom

    rjs_essex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2006
    Posts:
    2,173
    Likes Received:
    15
  9. grantw United Kingdom

    grantw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2005
    Posts:
    4,649
    Likes Received:
    82
    By the looks of it you're with Heart Internet and I guess this is what your control panel looks like:

    http://hosting.heartinternet.co.uk/sub-domain.cgi

    By the looks of it you are simply naming the directory that you want the sub domain to point to, so if you call the subdomain 'mysubdomain' and the directory 'mysubdomaindirectory' this should create a directory on the server called 'mysubdomaindirectory' where you upload your files to. mysubdomain.domain.co.uk should then point there??

    If not, its a question for the host as it looks like a custom control panel.

    Grant
     
  10. bensd United Kingdom

    bensd Well-Known Member Exclusive Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2007
    Posts:
    4,956
    Likes Received:
    53
    Looks like its the same control panel.

    That's what it says when you create a sub domain, however when i create the subdomain 'mysubdomain' and create the directory 'mysubdomaindirectory' and upload any files, they will be shown if it type in domain.co.uk/mysubdomain but not if i type in mysubdomain.domain.co.uk
     
  11. grantw United Kingdom

    grantw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2005
    Posts:
    4,649
    Likes Received:
    82
    In that case I would say it's not working properly, email the host.

    Grant
     
  12. bensd United Kingdom

    bensd Well-Known Member Exclusive Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2007
    Posts:
    4,956
    Likes Received:
    53
    Ok, will do.

    Thanks for you help Grant.

    Ben
     
  13. retired_member27

    retired_member27 Retired Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2005
    Posts:
    708
    Likes Received:
    13
    This is correct under CPanel.

    When you create a new subdomain, it also creates a new directory one level above public_html, so the index.html page can be accessed at http://subdomain.domain.com/index.html and http://www.domain.com/subdomain/index.html
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page