Domain Manage

Super Direct Navigation

Discussion in 'NameDrive' started by NameDriver, Dec 22, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. NameDriver

    NameDriver NameDrive Staff

    Joined:
    Aug 2005
    Posts:
    717
    Likes Received:
    8
    Look, I know I'm meant to know everything about the internet ....

    But this just happened to me on a Thursday morning...

    I was looking for the opening times of my local Kaufhof (big department store in Germany) and accidentally typed in "Kaufhof Köln Öffnungszeiten" into my Mozilla browser bar (instead of the Google search box on Mozilla) and I got taken to the exact page for my local Kaufhof's opening hours!
    Is this direct navigation gone crazy?
    I tried out a couple of other experiments:
    "Chelsea Fixtures" takes me to the BBC fixture list
    "Exotikka of India curry" takes me to my favourite curry house on 192.com
    "Domain Parking" takes me, well, I have no idea what that is :p

    Am I just very slow - did other people know about this? Direct navigation taken to a new level by Mozilla. It doesn't work with IE.

    Sorry, I was so amazed that my first search gave me exactly what I wanted to find with a minimum of hassle that I thought I'd share it.

    What does this mean for the domain world? Good thing or bad thing...?

    Maybe I'm just a little over-excited about Christmas. Please excuse my ravings.

    Ed
     
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
     
  3. mreeves

    mreeves Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2005
    Posts:
    90
    Likes Received:
    1
    Been like that for a while. Basically its powered by google and is basically the same a going to google, typing in your search query and clicking on "I'm Feeling Lucky".

    Regards
    Martin
     
  4. stevie

    stevie Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2005
    Posts:
    443
    Likes Received:
    9
    great if you have a nice domain with good SERPS...

    the feature is off by default.. & most punters use IE.. don't think there's too much to get worried about.. "yet..!!"

    browser stats..
    http://www.w3schools.com/browsers/browsers_stats.asp
     
  5. aqls

    aqls Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2005
    Posts:
    1,042
    Likes Received:
    26
    I think on one word entries in the URL bar it takes you direct to the .com by default in Mozilla.
     
  6. mreeves

    mreeves Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2005
    Posts:
    90
    Likes Received:
    1
    Not true. At least for me, having just run some tests using the lastest version of firefox.
     
  7. Fishfinger

    Fishfinger Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2005
    Posts:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    It shortcuts all typos and most parked generics, including domains such as *candy.com*

    So is it bad? No. It is worst than that.
     
  8. retired_member27

    retired_member27 Retired Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2005
    Posts:
    708
    Likes Received:
    13
    Well if I type "custom software" in the url bar of my browser (IE6) it takes me straight to "http://search.msn.co.uk/results.aspx?srch=105&FORM=AS5&q=custom+software" with all search results showing for that term (we are at number 7). I'm not sure if my browser is specifically setup to search msn or if it's actually programmed into IE6 itself.
     
  9. Fishfinger

    Fishfinger Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2005
    Posts:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    In Firefox, if I type "custom software" I go direct to 1stcustomsoftware.com and I didn't change the default settings.
     
  10. stevie

    stevie Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2005
    Posts:
    443
    Likes Received:
    9
    I'd be interested to know what your default search is under your preference settings in firefox.. the only way that your browser will do that is if your chosen search engine uses "smart keywords"
     
  11. Fishfinger

    Fishfinger Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2005
    Posts:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    Where should I look? I can't see anything in the options menu.:confused:
     
  12. stevie

    stevie Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2005
    Posts:
    443
    Likes Received:
    9
    I'm not sure.. running mozilla on solaris..

    Type about:config in Firefox location bar and press Enter
    this should bring up your firefox config & under browser.search.defaultenginname should say what the default is..
     
  13. Fishfinger

    Fishfinger Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2005
    Posts:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    Impressive stuff:D

    The browser.search.defaultenginname value is just google but browser.search.defaulturl is http ://www. google.com/search?hl=fr&lr=&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&q=

    Would that explain it?
     
  14. stevie

    stevie Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2005
    Posts:
    443
    Likes Received:
    9
    Whats your keword URL??

    I think your safe, but there are a number of spyware porgrams.. including some popular IM clients that will change your keyword URL to exploit advertising..

    If you want to restore the Google "I'm Lucky" search then perform this simple steps:
    1. Type about:config in Firefox location bar and press Enter
    2. Type keyword in Filter textbox and you will see only the preference keyword.URL.
    3. Double-click on keyword.URL and change the value to:
    Code:
    http://www.google.com/search?btnI=I%27m+Feeling+Lucky&q=
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2005
  15. Fishfinger

    Fishfinger Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2005
    Posts:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
  16. stevie

    stevie Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2005
    Posts:
    443
    Likes Received:
    9
    the plot thickens..

    just been messing with my settings & stuffed everything up... so used the very intructions I supplied to you to retreive defaults & guess what..

    my browser does exactly what yours does.. enter a keyword eg: acorn domains & it takes me directly to the url that is number 1 on google for that keyword.. cool... mmmm or not

    Any valid URL may be specified. The keyword will be appended to the URL and then the user will be redirected to the new URL.

    The default value is http://www.google.com/search?ie=UTF-8&oe=utf-8&q= in most Mozilla products; in

    Firefox and Sunbird the default is http://www.google.com/search?btnI=I'm+Feeling+Lucky&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&q=.

    check this out.. it explains all
    http://kb.mozillazine.org/Keyword.URL
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2005
  17. aqls

    aqls Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2005
    Posts:
    1,042
    Likes Received:
    26
    In my Mozilla 5.0 there is a default preference under browser settings that says add www and .com to any word if url isn't found.

    Maybe this is no longer default in more recent Firefoxes.

    All this puts much more pressure on everyone to get to the top of Google - their algorithm had better be *perfect*.

    -aqls-
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page