Domain Manage

Surely I can't transfer any domain in?

Discussion in 'Domain Name Registrars' started by ian, Jan 28, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ian

    ian Well-Known Member Acorn Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 2008
    Posts:
    2,452
    Likes Received:
    83
    Was having a play around with my UKReg control panel to see what else it can't do :D and came across the option to transfer in domain names, i.e. change registrar.

    It might just be me but it seemed to allow me to go an awful long way in to the transfer process and a domain that I don't own without advising it's not possible, infact, I got to the point of changing the nameservers before I chickened out because I don't want to take hotmail down or anything :D

    Would it stop me at some stage? I'm just baffled how it seems possible to transfer in and take control of any domain, in the same way as someone could take one of mine!!!
     
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
     
  3. ratboy United Kingdom

    ratboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2005
    Posts:
    2,399
    Likes Received:
    43
    Not for .co.uk.

    .com you can, but it then needs to be pushed/agreed at the other end.

    You can't just control anything!
     
  4. ian

    ian Well-Known Member Acorn Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 2008
    Posts:
    2,452
    Likes Received:
    83
    Well this may be a different situation but today I transfered a domain to a new owner via Nominet, then the new owner simply went into his own domain control panel and brought the domain across, without me having to do anything. He now has full control. How could that be? Is it because it's registered in his name? I didn't think the domain control panels were that clever?

    Anyone care to give me permission to try and bring one of your domains under my control using the method mentions (apart from the Nominet bit!)
     
  5. grantw United Kingdom

    grantw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2005
    Posts:
    4,649
    Likes Received:
    82
    You cannot move a domain to UKReg unless it is on the FASTHOSTS TAG, if someone elses domain is on the FASTHOSTS TAG and in their UKReg account then you also will not be able to transfer it to your account because its already in someone elses.

    The only time you could do this in theory is if someone has changed the TAG to FASTHOSTS and not yet added it to their account.

    Basically it can't be done, you're wasting your time trying.

    Grant
     
  6. grantw United Kingdom

    grantw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2005
    Posts:
    4,649
    Likes Received:
    82
    The reason he could move it into his registrar account is because he changed the TAG to that of his registrar during the transfer process.

    Grant
     
  7. ian

    ian Well-Known Member Acorn Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 2008
    Posts:
    2,452
    Likes Received:
    83
    Ah right, as in it was requested as part of the Nominet process?
     
  8. grantw United Kingdom

    grantw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2005
    Posts:
    4,649
    Likes Received:
    82
    Yep, during the transfer process you can choose to move the domain to another registrar. Once the transfer is complete you then login to the registrar and transfer the domain into your account.

    Grant
     
  9. ian

    ian Well-Known Member Acorn Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 2008
    Posts:
    2,452
    Likes Received:
    83
    Ah ok, thanks for the education :), I transferred out my first domain name on the online service today, so didn't know what questions the new owner would be asked, or how they'd transfer in to their domain provider.

    The domain I transfered is still showing in my control panel on UKReg with full access, will it eventually disappear (I've seen mentions of 72 hours) or will I need to push it out? No point it being there if I've sold it!
     
  10. grantw United Kingdom

    grantw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2005
    Posts:
    4,649
    Likes Received:
    82
    It will probably stay there, ukreg are a bit crap like that - you won't be able to make any changes to the domain as I'm guessing it's been moved to a different registrar meaning ukreg have absolutely no control over it.

    Grant
     
  11. bensd United Kingdom

    bensd Well-Known Member Exclusive Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2007
    Posts:
    4,956
    Likes Received:
    53
    123-reg are the same, i have to email a support request to have domains moved from my account once they are sold.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page