Domain Manage

that was a long day!!!

Discussion in 'Forum News & Feedback' started by boxerdog, Apr 18, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. boxerdog

    boxerdog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2007
    Posts:
    3,663
    Likes Received:
    33
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
     
  3. Skinner

    Skinner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2008
    Posts:
    4,324
    Likes Received:
    80
    So acorn was down ?

    My DNS has been all over the show this last week, so acorn has resolved a dozen times, and some sites only half load.

    I've just moved to opendns because my paid for dns sucked :p
     
  4. retired_member12

    retired_member12 Retired Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2006
    Posts:
    1,505
    Likes Received:
    23
    Again! Not a criticism, just an observation!
     
  5. doodlebug United Kingdom

    doodlebug Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2007
    Posts:
    5,202
    Likes Received:
    49
    That's nice to know, I've been out all day with my 5 year old for her birthday and was thinking, can't wait to get home on tinternet, 1st thing I'll check Acorn.

    I couldn't have gone on today anyway ;)
     
  6. admin Spain

    admin Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2004
    Posts:
    10,083
    Likes Received:
    115
    I complained to the hosting co last week, they said they'd keep an eye on it, guess that doesn't include weekends.

    Grrrrrrrrr
     
  7. doodlebug United Kingdom

    doodlebug Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2007
    Posts:
    5,202
    Likes Received:
    49
    Your hosting company give you quite a bit too much downtime :(
     
  8. retired_member12

    retired_member12 Retired Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2006
    Posts:
    1,505
    Likes Received:
    23
    There seems to be a lot of internet based companies who dont work weekends!
     
  9. admin Spain

    admin Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2004
    Posts:
    10,083
    Likes Received:
    115
    Well it was fine before the virus I had. I paid them to remove it so do expect that it should work as before, but it doesn't.

    I have escalated it to their Director.
     
  10. Pred United Kingdom

    Pred Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2006
    Posts:
    7,208
    Likes Received:
    73
    thought you'd lost her!
    glad you got sorted
    sack your hosting co. it will happen again. fact
    get a new company
     
  11. admin Spain

    admin Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2004
    Posts:
    10,083
    Likes Received:
    115
    I'm thinking to try upgrading VB to a more recent version before I do that.
     
  12. jimm United Kingdom

    jimm Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2008
    Posts:
    688
    Likes Received:
    13
    Im still happy to take a look ;)

    But please think carefully about 'upgrading' unless you mean to 3.8.5. V4 is a big step.

    Edit, if its just Apache dieing how does a script to restart it sound?

    Something like:
    run every few minutes should do the trick (may need a couple of tweaks to your environment).
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2010
  13. admin Spain

    admin Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2004
    Posts:
    10,083
    Likes Received:
    115
    Script sounds cool but I have no idea with Apache. What would you need to have a look at?
     
  14. jimm United Kingdom

    jimm Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2008
    Posts:
    688
    Likes Received:
    13
    Ill send you a PM :)
     
  15. invincible

    invincible Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2005
    Posts:
    4,108
    Likes Received:
    81
    I was thinking about suggesting a script to restart apache every so often, last week when it went down. However it ought not to be going down in the first place. What kind of external monitoring of the forum do you have, if any?
     
  16. admin Spain

    admin Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2004
    Posts:
    10,083
    Likes Received:
    115
    I have great mods who text me (thanks Paul) and a web-based status checker that sends me emails, but I can't always get access to the Server to restart the services depending upon where I am and what I am carrying with me.
     
  17. invincible

    invincible Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2005
    Posts:
    4,108
    Likes Received:
    81
    I have found that the best monitoring is a service that can check for the existance of a specified string within the web page, usually located near the bottom, rather than just something that pings the IP, or monitors for any basic http reply. This level of monitoring will make sure the database is working and outputing the correct content. Without it, apache could be posting something but it could simply be error messages. Websitepulse.com and Alertsite.com offer this level of monitoring and they'll monitor your site up to every one minute. You may also provide instructions so if something should fail; their staff can follow them (e.g. restarting services), or your staff can automatically be contacted to deal with the situation. :)
     
  18. admin Spain

    admin Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2004
    Posts:
    10,083
    Likes Received:
    115
  19. invincible

    invincible Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2005
    Posts:
    4,108
    Likes Received:
    81
    I've personal experience with Websitepulse.com. From what I can establish, a single target monitoring "http performance" every 1 minute, from a single location (probably London), with take over enabled (where their staff follow technical instructions if there's a problem), you'll be looking at $101 per month. This will allow you to monitor for a string you specify, preferably pulled from the database, and located at the bottom of probably the main forum page every 1 minute. If WSP fails to find this, every minute, you and others can be emailed and sms'ed. With this service their staff will follow instructions to fix the issue (e.g. apachectl restart or flush mysql - I forget what's relevant as not done it in a long time!). You can pay about $76 to get it without their take over.
     
  20. Edwin

    Edwin Well-Known Member Exclusive Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2005
    Posts:
    8,459
    Likes Received:
    261
    You should, at the very least to 3.7.7 which is the latest version of the particular "branch" of VB that this forum is running. Anything less leaves known security holes, since they're public knowledge (all the hackers need to do - if they don't know already - is look at the Release Notes for VB updates)

    You might also want to pay the one-time fee to get the "remove VB branding" option, which will strip references to VB out of the code that generates the threads. After that, you're free to edit the templates to remove references to the software/version number. It doesn't provide a LOT of protection, but it means that at the very least your forum won't be findable in the search engines if hackers are casting around for "insecure" forums to go after.
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2010
  21. jimm United Kingdom

    jimm Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2008
    Posts:
    688
    Likes Received:
    13
    You can remove the version number without the branding free version but as you say security through obscurity isnt really security.
    Though security isnt now causing this issue.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page