Domain Manage

Top Domains - Exclusive contract

Discussion in 'Sedo' started by Rich, Mar 30, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rich United Kingdom

    Rich Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2004
    Posts:
    521
    Likes Received:
    5
    What are people thoughts on this?

    Within the next month to have a domain name with Sedo obtain 'Top Domain' status you will have to:-

    1. Sign an exclusive contract with Sedo for that domain name.
    2. It must be parked with sedo or if developed have a Sedo tracker on site.
    3. Domains will be by invite only.

    Personally I think its a backwards step and Sedo should have introduced something like this in addition to the 'Top domain' listings

    The only real problem with the top domain list in the past was it needed a clean up and needed to be searchable.

    With 11.5mil names on Sedo I think 'top domains' should cover about 1%-2% of the names listed and a 'premium domains' listing for the best of the best

    Rich
     
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
     
  3. Edwin

    Edwin Well-Known Member Exclusive Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2005
    Posts:
    8,460
    Likes Received:
    261
    Far too generous. Top is probably no more than 0.1% (11,000 names) and even then that's a stretch. And there are probably no more than 1,000 that would fit a true "premium" description i.e. "category killer" domains.
     
  4. sedo

    sedo Sedo Staff

    Joined:
    Aug 2005
    Posts:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    9
    Hi Rich,

    We'd love to promote your names but with the current market, we have to prioritise our UK customers who use Sedo's platform to park and sell.

    Thanks
    Jonathan and the Sedo UK team
     
  5. Rich United Kingdom

    Rich Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2004
    Posts:
    521
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hi Jonathan,

    You misunderstand me It doesnt really make any difference to me if any of my names have top domain status or not.

    I am not an active buyer or seller via Sedo as you know when you have chased me to sell names in the past and would guess Sedo account for only 2 or 3% of any sales/purchases I have made.

    I have posted the above as I think its a backwards move for Sedo in general as people dont like to be forced to do anything. If it was done in addition to the existing top domains section then it may have been a good idea if it gave additional benefit.

    The previous problem with the top domain section wasnt the fact it had some poor names in it was the fact you couldnt filter them out. If I wanted to find say a finance related UK domain I would have to look through page after page of non UK and non finance related stuff.

    Cheers

    Rich
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page