Domain Manage

Transferring online shop to another host.

Discussion in 'Domain Name Registrars' started by mat, Jan 5, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mat United Kingdom

    mat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2007
    Posts:
    3,782
    Likes Received:
    73
    Is there alot involved? Im looking at purchasing someones site. They arnt very clued up on the tech side and have simply told me. "Our hosting company should be able to transfer it to you at an extra cost"

    Im thinking if I have access to their hosting and databases etc I can get it copied to my host myself... Just trying to work out how much is actualy involved.
     
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
     
  3. grantw United Kingdom

    grantw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2005
    Posts:
    4,649
    Likes Received:
    82
    Should be quite simple - backup the database, upload the files to the new host, change any config options in the script that are set to the old servers paths/locations then import the database.

    Grant
     
  4. bb99 United Kingdom

    bb99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2005
    Posts:
    1,598
    Likes Received:
    38
    I've done this a few times with a few different shop systems.

    If you can find the website for the software powering the shop, it's bound to be in either the FAQs or the forums and there will be an idiot's guide to doing it.

    Although if you follow what Grant says you won't go far wrong - generally there'll be some file permissions to change as well.

    Easy peasy :cool:
     
  5. mat United Kingdom

    mat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2007
    Posts:
    3,782
    Likes Received:
    73
    Cheers guys
     
  6. aZooZa

    aZooZa Well-Known Member Exclusive Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2005
    Posts:
    4,495
    Likes Received:
    92
    If you have shell access, you (or the seller) can create a tarball and keep the permissions intact. Bzip2 has that option also I think.
     
  7. monaghan United Kingdom

    monaghan Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 2007
    Posts:
    1,993
    Likes Received:
    45
    If the old host and the new host have the same control panel, then you can probably get your administrator to import the whole site through the admin (reseller) control panel. Some control panel's will even import accounts from other control panels. Generally you'll just need the hostname and user account / password and the control panel will do the rest for you.

    Speak to your host and ask the question. We certainly have imported a number of cpanel based sites from other hosts to our cpanel boxes with little or no impact.

    The only thing to consider is that you'd get the whole account as is, if you've purchased the site, you may want to take the time to manually rebuild it and loose the cruft from the last few years :)
     
  8. aZooZa

    aZooZa Well-Known Member Exclusive Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2005
    Posts:
    4,495
    Likes Received:
    92
    Yes, Plesk will work like that.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page