Domain Manage

Web design

Discussion in 'Website Design' started by georgiou82, Jan 29, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. georgiou82

    georgiou82 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2005
    Posts:
    167
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ok although I am going to look like a total amateur...!

    How do I make a web page?Ok so I go to microsoft creat a blank web page, then what. How do I get that page up, do I need to go to a hosting company. Basically I want to create a page with links to other parked pages at the lovely sedo and make it look professional. I have used some website makers but they do not allow you to edit the whole page etc and I cannot paste other banners in there!Where would paste the text for a banner if there is no html to edit etc. Can anyone please help!

    Thank you in advance
     
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
     
  3. admin Spain

    admin Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2004
    Posts:
    10,083
    Likes Received:
    115
    Design your page (or site) on your PC, then you need to upload it (via FTP) to some web hosting space (attached to your domain) so that the rest of the world can see it.

    There are loads of web design resources on the Internet that will help more than I can write here. I started learning HTML using Notepad many years ago but these days there are many free Windows based web design applications you can use, including Microsoft Word!

    Good luck
     
  4. domaingenius

    domaingenius Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2004
    Posts:
    1,386
    Likes Received:
    10
    1. Download yourself a free copy of Coolpage 2.7 and use that to compose your
    web pages and insert links.

    OR

    2. Using microsoft WORD you can create a default web page . To insert
    banners on to that page (1) Get the hmtl code from the affiliate web
    site. (2) Right click on the default index page and click "edit" ,then
    click "view html" , then paste the banner html code onto the web page,
    maybe about 1/2 way down page. Click "save" and then "web page
    "preview and you should see a banner on your page. Then upload
    that index.html page to your web hosting and thats it.

    DG
     
  5. georgiou82

    georgiou82 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2005
    Posts:
    167
    Likes Received:
    3
    much appreciated guys, thanks!!!!!

    gEO :rolleyes:
     
  6. georgiou82

    georgiou82 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2005
    Posts:
    167
    Likes Received:
    3
    ok i have created a web page but where do i paste the new banner text. I pasted into the html section but the banner did not come up, only the text once I had gone to preview web page. Any ideas?
     
  7. aquanuke

    aquanuke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2005
    Posts:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    34
    Is the banner html or javascript? Post the code.

    Html is very user friendly you can infact get it all wrong and it will still work :)

    Real basic image+link in html would be like this..

    PHP:

    <html>

    <
    a href="mypage.html">
    <
    img src="image.gif">
    </
    a>

    </
    html>

     
  8. deconstruction

    deconstruction Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2005
    Posts:
    1,445
    Likes Received:
    15
    if you want me to take a look for you drop me a pm with a link to the page.

    i think newbies also need to beware what packages they use, some packages will fill your sites of useless code and make them a nightmare to edit,update. and they will run like a dog with one leg ;)

    i would recomend a package.. but i code my from scratch so i have no idea whats good and whats not. :rolleyes:
     
  9. jonno United Kingdom

    jonno Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2005
    Posts:
    621
    Likes Received:
    7
    eugh editors suck :razz:

    spend some time learning how to hand code theres literally thousands of tutorials out there :)
     
  10. georgiou82

    georgiou82 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2005
    Posts:
    167
    Likes Received:
    3
    i have managed to get the page as i want it, i have got info for webhosting. Password etc. Ok, so I have changed the dns and IP with my domain people! But, now how do i do this ftp stuff? I have the webpage, plus my image folder but am totally unsure what to do next?

    ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
     
  11. sneezycheese

    sneezycheese Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2005
    Posts:
    550
    Likes Received:
    15
    'Personally' I think Dreamweaver is a good web design tool to use, as it's a kind of 'best of both worlds' type of package. It's got lots and lots of extra goodies bolted onto it too :)

    By the way georgiou82 - it also includes a built in FTP client, so as long as you’ve got your FTP host info, FTP login details and Password, you 'should' be sorted ;)

    Follow the link for a free 30 day trial of Dreamweaver 8… http://www.macromedia.com/cfusion/tdrc/index.cfm?product=dreamweaver

    Best of luck!!!
     
  12. georgiou82

    georgiou82 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2005
    Posts:
    167
    Likes Received:
    3
    help!

    ok me and another member have put up this site www.netpropertyprices.com but the pictures are missing. You can see them in firefox but not in explorer. Can anyone shed any light on this please!!!!!!!!!
     
  13. admin Spain

    admin Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2004
    Posts:
    10,083
    Likes Received:
    115
    Word does a hideous job of rendering HTML code, 807 lines for a simple page with a few links and pictures!

    I am trawling through it now to see what the problem is.

    I have just seen a file link:
    "Doc2%20other_files/image003.gif"
    which doesnt look too good.

    Do all images show in your other browser?
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2006
  14. georgiou82

    georgiou82 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2005
    Posts:
    167
    Likes Received:
    3
    admin thanks a lot, but drizzt has sorted it for me the ultimate legend. I will certainly not be using word again but www.NetPropertyPrices.com is officially up and running now and linked to ourproperty.co.uk! Thanks for all your help. ps is the page safe, how did you see the code?
     
  15. aqls

    aqls Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2005
    Posts:
    1,042
    Likes Received:
    26
    If you right click on your mouse and click on View Source - you have just hacked your way into seeing the code for your page.

    Same goes for just about any html page (except those where it doesn't).

    (but viewers can't change your page)

    -aqls-
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page