Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.

Which PHP framework

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
In another thread it was suggested to use one of the PHP frameworks. I've looked at these in the past, but to migrate an existing project is not practical, however, I have a new project (quite small and simple so ideal to learn something new).

The logical one to choose seems to be Zend given the Zend & PHP linkage, however, there is lots of mention of other frameworks. Anyone suggest a justifiable reason not to use Zend and if so which other framework would you use and why?

The project is PHP, so please no Ruby or Python suggestions :)

i've been using ZF for a couple of years, it was a bit ropey bug wise to start off with but 1.9 seems to have improved. zend form specifically is a lifesaver, it seems to save me literally hours of time.

I thought I'd give others a chance seeing as I might have been the author in the other thread, I'm a big fan of ZF, use it daily for my 9-5 job. If you have a small project to learn with, go for it.

The only reason I wouldn't use ZF (or specifically the MVC stack in ZF) is for very small projects, that I don't think will grow, in which case I'd use CodeIgniter (or Yii, which I've not used yet) as it's much smaller. For example, I wrote a small URL shortener in CodeIgniter, but I wrote ZFSnippets.com in Zend Framework.

The other great thing about Zend is that it is also a great component library, you can drop it into any existing application and start to use the components such as the validators, Zend_Db and all the services classes etc.

It depends what you are doing? I've always found ZF a little heavyweight and tend to prefer CodeIgniter (MVC)

I already tend to write code to run through a central router and drop out to include files / classes, so the jump to a formal MVC will not be too much of a culture shock!