Domain Manage

Wireless Bridge for me

Discussion in 'General Board' started by pbryd, Jun 22, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pbryd United Kingdom

    pbryd Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2007
    Posts:
    396
    Likes Received:
    2
    I've just set up my first wireless bridge with a cheap d-link router from ebay and some custom firmware.

    The Dlink 615 router was only £10 so it's a cheap way extending your home network if you're prepared to spend a bit of time flashing the router and tweaking the settings.

    Anyone else done this?
     
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
     
  3. grantw United Kingdom

    grantw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2005
    Posts:
    4,649
    Likes Received:
    82
  4. pbryd United Kingdom

    pbryd Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2007
    Posts:
    396
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yeah my brother has some network plugs too, they work very well.
     
  5. philipp United Kingdom

    philipp Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2005
    Posts:
    639
    Likes Received:
    16
    Hey Grant,

    I've been considering those - but how do you ensure that network traffic is confined to your house? Can you set a local encryption key or does it just leak all your traffic to the whole of your local sub-station spur?

    Cheers,

    P.
     
  6. grantw United Kingdom

    grantw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2005
    Posts:
    4,649
    Likes Received:
    82
    There's a button on each plug to set up encryption, I've really not looked into the technology of it though so can't really say, for all I know I could be sending data all over the street :) I bought them in desperation after having wireless issues and couldn't believe how well they worked!

    Grant
     
  7. grantw United Kingdom

    grantw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2005
    Posts:
    4,649
    Likes Received:
    82
  8. philipp United Kingdom

    philipp Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2005
    Posts:
    639
    Likes Received:
    16
  9. jimm United Kingdom

    jimm Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2008
    Posts:
    688
    Likes Received:
    13
    I use Mikrotik kit for wireless where ever possible. Fantastic stuff.
    The powerline kit is ok provided you have nice clean power. Out in the countryside or in older houses it does struggle and when using big draw appliances like the kettle and iron it can fully drop.
     
  10. theonemanyuri

    theonemanyuri Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2010
    Posts:
    556
    Likes Received:
    2
    I use Belkin 1gbps powerline adapters for my desktop, pretty damn good. Still had problems up until recently, our internet used to drop out several times an hour. Put in a new Belkin N series router, all was lovely. Then my old dears laptop and PC (relics) couldn't connect because of the encryption so had to run it unsecured and now my wireless is worse than before. Wireless... it's a lottery!

    I also have over 20 sockets in constant use in the room with my desktop (lizards, fish, etc) and it doesn't affect the signal at all
     
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2011
  11. golddiggerguy United Kingdom

    golddiggerguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2007
    Posts:
    3,637
    Likes Received:
    25
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page