Domain Manage

Wordpress for SEO

Discussion in 'Wordpress' started by Lemon Jelly, Sep 21, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lemon Jelly

    Lemon Jelly Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2006
    Posts:
    157
    Likes Received:
    1
    I tend to use Wordpress for building sites because it's quick and I don't have to sod around with HTML templates, especially if I've got loads of links then it takes forever to put together.

    Any way, I have been reading Dosh Dosh about making money with blogs and it's pretty helpful, but I just use the All-In-One-SEO plugin which lets me create meta tags for each page/post along with Bunny Tags which adds Technorati tags to posts. Is this enough for SEO or is there something else I need which can help (apart from content)
     
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
     
  3. golddiggerguy United Kingdom

    golddiggerguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2007
    Posts:
    3,637
    Likes Received:
    25
    Permalinks work on Linux server but not Windows

    Just thougt i'd add this as YES it is good we can edit WP to help with SEO as it did seem a little naff if the paths were not editable using the permalinks option before activating the All-In-One-SEO plugin for WP as it only works on Linux Servers.


    So here goes the fix for it

    If you have access to the server install the following software - "ISAPI rewrite" and select the domain you wish to make SEO freindly then the button EDIT
    Then enter the following.

    # Helicon ISAPI_Rewrite configuration file
    # Version 3.0.0.23
    # BEGIN WordPress
    RewriteEngine On
    RewriteBase / add e.g. /blog if in a different folder
    RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
    RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
    RewriteRule .* /index.php [L]
    # END WordPress


    This creates a .htaccess file.

    Then in the wp-includes folder edit the file classes.php on line 46 ish comment out the line
    $req_uri = $_SERVER['REQUEST_URI'];
    like below-
    //$req_uri = $_SERVER['REQUEST_URI'];
    And add the following line straight after it-
    $req_uri = $_SERVER['HTTP_X_REWRITE_URL'];

    The first line is for linux and is not used the second line is for windows and active.


    Going back to the WP dashboard under OPTIONS - PERMALINKS use something simular as image.
    [​IMG]

    Hope this helps some WP hardcores to SEO to the MAX. ;)
     
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2007
  4. admin Spain

    admin Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2004
    Posts:
    10,083
    Likes Received:
    115
    Do you have an example site I could look at please?
     
  5. golddiggerguy United Kingdom

    golddiggerguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2007
    Posts:
    3,637
    Likes Received:
    25
    HullVoIP.co.uk
    Road-marking-hull.co.uk
    StudioNo1.com
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2008
  6. Lemon Jelly

    Lemon Jelly Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2006
    Posts:
    157
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm on a Linux server so the All In One SEO plugin works fine. Also I do not bother with long permalinks, I just use %/postname%
     
  7. BFTUK

    BFTUK Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2006
    Posts:
    888
    Likes Received:
    10
    Perfect! Wordpress is my choice of CMS at the moment, its so easy to install (especially with Cpanel and Fantastico!) and modify.

    There are some minor tweaks that can greatly improve your use of it from an SEO point of view. I wrote a post about avoiding supplemental pages when using wordpress awhile ago.

    And for those of you wanting to find your supplemental pages now that google have removed the supplemental tag, you may find this useful.
     
  8. Lemon Jelly

    Lemon Jelly Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2006
    Posts:
    157
    Likes Received:
    1
    BFTUK, got a questions for ya. Will SEO be effected if I am not posting new content, I am just making pages with information on them?

    Oh, cPanel + Fantastico is a winner everytime!
     
  9. BFTUK

    BFTUK Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2006
    Posts:
    888
    Likes Received:
    10
    Static sites are fine.

    Although its wise to try and keep a few links trickling into them to stop them getting stale or outpaced by competitors, and add a new page once in a while etc.
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2007
  10. daniboy

    daniboy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2007
    Posts:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll definately agree there..
    On a similar note and knowing/believing you've used it before, how simple is WordPress MU to set up in Cpanel? I'm thinking of embarking on a largish parasite/sub-domain build and can't use use WordPress[dot]com to host as I may put contextual ads on some of the sub-domains.
    I know I could just create all the sub-domains the regular way and install each one with WP via fantastico but there will be a lot of sub-domains and WP-MU would save time? Right?
     
  11. BFTUK

    BFTUK Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2006
    Posts:
    888
    Likes Received:
    10
    Hi Dan

    Its pretty easy to setup. Although i used subdirectories rather than subdomains, it would definately save time.

    Mines become a little neglected now but i keep meaning to sort it!
     
  12. daniboy

    daniboy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2007
    Posts:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll give it a go, if it causes me a problem I'll just go about it the long way (WP install on each Sub). I'll probably go sub-domain though, i.e.. cheap[dot]car[dot]tld, nice[dot]car[dot]tld, etc.... The way I see it is if a ban or penalty is imposed to the sub-domain, as long as it's orphaned from the main domain, then only the sub-domain carries the penalty. Would this apply with sub-folders?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page