Domain Manage

Wordpress switch off sidebar per page

Discussion in 'Wordpress' started by monaghan, Jul 23, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. monaghan United Kingdom

    monaghan Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 2007
    Posts:
    1,993
    Likes Received:
    45
    I'm just putting together a very simple wordpress site for my son's band.

    Is it possible (easily) to switch on and off the sidebar and what is displayed in it?

    I do more in Drupal than WP and it is quite easy to collapse the sidebars based on the content being displayed, but WP will be easier for the boys to manage themselves than Drupal.
     
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
     
  3. ChrisMM United Kingdom

    ChrisMM Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2009
    Posts:
    183
    Likes Received:
    7
    What theme are you using? Most theme include a "full page" template that you can select when creating a new page. That will remove the sidebar.
     
  4. monaghan United Kingdom

    monaghan Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 2007
    Posts:
    1,993
    Likes Received:
    45
    I was rolling a simple custom theme in Artisteer, none of the out of the box themes seem to have a separate page template.

    Can you control what pages each widget appears on or do you have a simple all or nothing setting for the sidebar?

    This was originally a simple favour, looks like turning into a bit more of a development project or I just swap over to Drupal where I can do it with my eyes closed.
     
  5. scottmccloud

    scottmccloud Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2011
    Posts:
    907
    Likes Received:
    26
  6. AssetDomains United Kingdom

    AssetDomains Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2010
    Posts:
    2,952
    Likes Received:
    52
  7. AssetDomains United Kingdom

    AssetDomains Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2010
    Posts:
    2,952
    Likes Received:
    52
    Just re read if there is no separate page template then copy index.php make it a page template will probably work
     
  8. monaghan United Kingdom

    monaghan Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 2007
    Posts:
    1,993
    Likes Received:
    45
    Thanks guys, I think I'm there now, trying to keep it as native WP as possible rather than cutting some bespoke code.
     
  9. ChrisMM United Kingdom

    ChrisMM Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2009
    Posts:
    183
    Likes Received:
    7
    If you'd like to PM me the site/login info I'll take a look for you. I'll be around for the next hour or so.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page