Public Benefit Nominet EGM

Moving domain to my tag and replace owner

Discussion in 'New Domainers' started by gordi555, Feb 4, 2021.

  1. gordi555 United Kingdom

    gordi555 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2006
    Posts:
    168
    Likes Received:
    3
    I've seen people (when I've sold a domain) only do a tag change from my Nominet tag to one of theirs and not doing a legal Nominet transfer of ownership (the £10 fee one).

    I have a domain in 123-reg of a friend who's had a problem with the web designer who register it, we have it now in his 123-reg account and want to release to my tag but make him the legal owner.

    I was just wondering how this is done please?
     
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
    articles.co.uk
     
  3. gregfindley

    gregfindley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2006
    Posts:
    1,484
    Likes Received:
    131
    Ask him to follow the step here to change the IPS tag to your Nominet tag:
    https://www.123-reg.co.uk/support/domains/transferring-a-uk-domain-away-from-123-reg-co-uk/

    Then when it's on your tag, find the domain in Web Domain Manager (in your Nominet account) and select the transfer button, enter his details as a new registrant and you should be all set. To verify, keep the whois info public (disclose registrant name/address), then you can always switch off afterwards.
     
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  4. lazarus

    lazarus Well-Known Member Exclusive Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2013
    Posts:
    1,314
    Likes Received:
    307
    Just to clarify. You may already know this but just in case.

    If you have your own self managed TAG you can change the legal registrant details from within your Nominet TAG control panel once the domain has been pushed to your own TAG.

    If you don't have a self managed TAG and you use a third party TAG like Fasthosts or 123reg etc. Then you have to pay the Nominet transfer fee to change registrant details.

    A lot of people on here have self managed TAGs. That is probably the reason why you see people pushing domains to each others TAGs in most cases.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2021
  5. webber

    webber Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2019
    Posts:
    281
    Likes Received:
    71
    To clarify this further, you should have the current registrant's permission or a sale/transfer contract of some sorts (even a basic email exchange). Just because it's on your tag it's not yours to change the registrant however you want.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. gordi555 United Kingdom

    gordi555 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2006
    Posts:
    168
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thank you everyone, that was very helpful!
     
  7. dee

    dee Well-Known Member Acorn Supporter

    Joined:
    May 2013
    Posts:
    2,287
    Likes Received:
    333
    You'll also need to add your friend onto your 'associated names' list (you're allowed five I think) in your TAG sattings if your on self managed.

    The name should match the registrant on the domain
     
  8. gordi555 United Kingdom

    gordi555 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2006
    Posts:
    168
    Likes Received:
    3
    Sorry me again.

    I'm in Web Domain Manager and don't see a 'Transfer' button. I'm a Channel Partner if that makes any difference?
     
  9. dee

    dee Well-Known Member Acorn Supporter

    Joined:
    May 2013
    Posts:
    2,287
    Likes Received:
    333
    So in the domain manager , click on the domain you want (so its ticked) then its here :



    Screenshot 2021-02-04 at 19.34.37.png
     
  10. lazarus

    lazarus Well-Known Member Exclusive Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2013
    Posts:
    1,314
    Likes Received:
    307
    It may do. I am not sure that a channel partner TAG has that functionality? Maybe someone with a channel partner TAG can verify.

    If not... Setting up a Self Managed Tag along side your Channel partner TAG shouldn't take too long. Then you have the best of both worlds.
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2021
  11. gordi555 United Kingdom

    gordi555 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2006
    Posts:
    168
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yes sadly no button.
     
  12. gordi555 United Kingdom

    gordi555 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2006
    Posts:
    168
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thank you - I'll try that next.