20i Domains

wordpress dupe content

Discussion in 'Content Management Systems' started by stender, Oct 21, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. stender United Kingdom

    stender Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2005
    Posts:
    2,501
    Likes Received:
    30
    Does wordpress get penalised in search engines for dupe content?
    e.g. I have a page of content which I then include on the homepage. Doesn't it then look like I have 2 pages of the same content?
     
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
    articles.co.uk
     
  3. jeremyc

    jeremyc New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2010
    Posts:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi


    Don't use same content on both pages. According to search engines policy, fresh content always gives more benefits.
     
  4. mat United Kingdom

    mat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2007
    Posts:
    3,913
    Likes Received:
    111
    It is not ideal, but it is far worse to have duplicate content from another website. Is there any reason why you cant use a different variation of content on the front page?
     
  5. Ashton Canada

    Ashton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2010
    Posts:
    1,620
    Likes Received:
    29
    If you have set that page as your homepage then the other page shouldn't exist.

    The best way to avoid duplicate content on WP is to use extracts
     
  6. stender United Kingdom

    stender Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2005
    Posts:
    2,501
    Likes Received:
    30
    With the template I'm using you choose which widgets to show on your homepage, so for example I choose to have 3 posts from category A showing in the featured main page. I would prefer my own content on the homepage but not sure how to do that.
     
  7. Blossom

    Blossom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2010
    Posts:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    57
    You could use the canonical tag to define which page is the most important...but that might have other adverse effects :S
     
  8. mat United Kingdom

    mat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2007
    Posts:
    3,913
    Likes Received:
    111
  9. stender United Kingdom

    stender Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2005
    Posts:
    2,501
    Likes Received:
    30
    Cheers will take a look.
     
  10. stender United Kingdom

    stender Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2005
    Posts:
    2,501
    Likes Received:
    30
    It sort of does the trick but.....
    With the template i'm using I have 3 widgets for the homepage
    1 is main header then below that I have a left main and right main which
    So if I use a page as a static homepage I then lose the left and right widgets below which I want to keep and populate with posts.
    Confused? I am.
     
  11. mat United Kingdom

    mat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2007
    Posts:
    3,913
    Likes Received:
    111
    Have you tried it?

    Normaly the page will just appear where the posts would show and leave your widgets and navigation in the normal areas...
     
  12. stender United Kingdom

    stender Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2005
    Posts:
    2,501
    Likes Received:
    30
    yes my widgets were for the homepage were set previously showing Page A at the top and then posts from pages B and C below.

    Now I just see the Page A I created on the homepage.
    I'm not explaining very clearly. THe right side widgets still display ok but not the main body widgets.

    I can pm the url if it will make more sense.
     
  13. illtemper

    illtemper Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2007
    Posts:
    68
    Likes Received:
    2
  14. sa_20v

    sa_20v Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2010
    Posts:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    On our sites, ranking well for their niches, we ensure that only the main-page and full articles are indexed. On the main-page we 'tease' with the first 250 words to ensure we don't see any penalties on Google etc. Archives, tags etc are non-index but follow.

    Hope that assists. :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.