Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.

A quality, easy to follow PHP book for beginners?

Discussion in 'Website Design' started by rawkinrich, Oct 22, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rawkinrich United Kingdom

rawkinrich Active Member

2. tifosi United Kingdom

tifosi Well-Known Member

php & mysql web development by Welling & Thompson. Upto 3rd/4th edition now. Good basic/intermediate stuff.

S

3. monaghan United Kingdom

monaghan Well-Known Member

Take a look at the books on www.sitepoint.com, these are easy to read and contain lots of re-usable code samples. Their forums are also a good source of help.

4. arenee

arenee Member

consider not using a book and doing a free online class. i started doing this several years ago and basically self-taught myself into a new business. one site i really like is hp's learning center.

5. Ashton Canada

Ashton Well-Known Member

Get yourself a server or a local environment (I prefer the latter - XAMPP is good for this)

The best way to learn is practice, however books can be an aid depending on how you learn, the best reference out there will always be php.net

I actually started with w3schools.com before I just started trying to create things and overcoming problems myself (and with the help of a few forums - like sitepoint)

Good luck :)

6. norwethel

norwethel Member

Been through this myself recently and I have used two books both of which are pretty good:

PHP & MySQL for Dummies - cover price UKP 21-99
    PHP, MySQL and Apache by Julie Meloni, SAMS publishing - cover price UKP 24-99

The 'for Dummies' book covers all the basics and is a good first book I would say particularly if completely new to programming and databases. The SAMS book goes deeper and I actually wish I'd bought this first but it moves a little faster through the basics.