Domain Manage

Amazon

Discussion in 'Hosting' started by Jamie101, Apr 20, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jamie101 United States

    Jamie101 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2012
    Posts:
    1,057
    Likes Received:
    15
    Came across a few people lately mentioning that they are using Amazon S3 and so on to host their sites (both static sites and more complex ones). Never noticed too many people on here mention it though, anyone use it?

    The cost of a VPS is killing me at this stage since I'm not making much money online right now since I'm busy in college.

    Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
     
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
     
  3. Jamie101 United States

    Jamie101 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2012
    Posts:
    1,057
    Likes Received:
    15
    Looks like nobody does then. For some reason it seems like American developers love it for hosting but very few people I know use it.

    Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
     
  4. DaveP United Kingdom

    DaveP Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2010
    Posts:
    2,750
    Likes Received:
    23
    First of mate, if you're on a budget I highly highly highly highly super highly recommend http://www.digitalocean.com/

    Yes I have used Amazon hosting before but you still need to know what you're doing it's not all automatic CPanel and that crap.. :) Effectively it's "cloud" hosting where in you can spawn instances of many different images and you can effectively use a mix of Amazon services together.

    More information here:

    https://aws.amazon.com/ec2/

    Thanks,
    Dave
     
  5. Jamie101 United States

    Jamie101 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2012
    Posts:
    1,057
    Likes Received:
    15
    Thanks Dave. Looked in to digital ocean before and thought it seemed a bit complicated but must put more time into it once college is finished.

    Seems really cheap so I need to figure it out.

    Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
     
  6. DaveP United Kingdom

    DaveP Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2010
    Posts:
    2,750
    Likes Received:
    23
    I'll help you out mate digital ocean is so quick and easy they have tons of articles to help you out too. $5 a month you can run a basic/small site off if you know what you're doing. :)

    Send me a PM with what you want setup I'll help you. In exchange for a certain LLL.co.uk I'll be your slave and build you what you want... haha. :) Just kidding of course.
     
  7. mdrussell United Kingdom

    mdrussell Active Member Full Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2012
    Posts:
    255
    Likes Received:
    5
    512MB will barely run cPanel. 1GB is better taking you to $10 + the license costs. Then support is self-serve/community based...

    So I guess it depends how you value your time. It can be cheap, it's certainly easy. But how much is your time worth when it can take you 1-2 hours reading articles to try something or spending 5 minutes submitting a ticket and having a support team take care of it?

    DO is certainly cheap (they are currently operating at loss - look at how much money they burn). But cheap isn't always better.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page