Domain Manage

Automatron - bulk cmd help

Discussion in 'Nominet Tag Holders' started by aquanuke, Jan 26, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aquanuke

    aquanuke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2005
    Posts:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    34
    Anyone know how I can do this..

    Everyday I reg' say 10-20 domains and I'd like to do a bulk call at the end of each day that will find all domains that have no NS records, ie the ones Ive most recently reg'd and then update those.

    How would I detect only those that have no NS records? Ive tried searching the 'nservers' with nothing, a space, and NULL. None of those work ie below as an example with NULL

    dry-run:
    filter: 'NULL' in nservers
    update: nservers = [ 'ns1.sedoparking.com','ns2.sedoparking.com' ]
     
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
     
  3. SecNam

    SecNam Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2004
    Posts:
    5,127
    Likes Received:
    37
    i use tagadmin (tagadmin.com) saves loads of time, well for me anyway.
     
  4. DaveBeasley United Kingdom

    DaveBeasley Nominet Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2005
    Posts:
    227
    Likes Received:
    4
    I was going to say the same thing, using TagAdmin. Just request a domain LIST, import it and highlight all the names with no nameservers, then Bulk Update them. Easy!

    Dave
     
  5. aquanuke

    aquanuke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2005
    Posts:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    34
    Thats a bit overkill when I just want one wee little cmd :p

    Nahh Tagadmin would be no good for me as need to run from multiple locations and would have to be a unix console app as that all I work under.
     
  6. retired_member26

    retired_member26 Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 2004
    Posts:
    752
    Likes Received:
    12
    Don't reg :)
     
  7. grantw United Kingdom

    grantw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2005
    Posts:
    4,649
    Likes Received:
    82
    Post it to the [nom-tech] list mate, you'll get an answer quick sharp!

    Grant
     
  8. aquanuke

    aquanuke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2005
    Posts:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    34
    They must all be sleeping with the weekend, invincible will know the answer when he turns up :p
     
  9. deconstruction

    deconstruction Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2005
    Posts:
    1,445
    Likes Received:
    15
    could be me being dumb :)... but why dont you add the nameservers when you reg the names?
     
  10. aquanuke

    aquanuke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2005
    Posts:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    34
    I did think about that..

    I spread my domains between 3 parking companys + my own servers, and cant really pre plan where they will go as wont know what I will catch or miss. Really just the way Im setup the above fits my needs.

    The automatron is really pretty clever and has alot of bells and whistles.. just the documentation needs a brush up.
     
  11. invincible

    invincible Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2005
    Posts:
    4,108
    Likes Received:
    81
    Would it be possible for you to filter by the creation date field instead?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. aquanuke

    aquanuke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2005
    Posts:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    34
    Thanks invincible, I think that should do what I need. Just means I have to change the dates each time.

     
  13. invincible

    invincible Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2005
    Posts:
    4,108
    Likes Received:
    81
    You could probably write a script to automate the date change each time, which would be easy if you were constantly running the script at a specific time each day.
     
  14. afx United Kingdom

    afx Active Member Exclusive Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2005
    Posts:
    275
    Likes Received:
    3
    Why dont you just code your catching script to send in a modify template automatically straight after it fires with the Sedo ns servers in it. As I'm sure you have your preferred default parking company and then just manually change each name if you want it parked elsewhere, which you would have to do anyway.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. SF

    SF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2005
    Posts:
    7,515
    Likes Received:
    57
    Hi and welcome afx :)

    That does seem the normal thing to do, you can tell the people that do it when you check the whois a few seconds later and see the name already updated.

    Sean






     
  16. aquanuke

    aquanuke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2005
    Posts:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    34
    Good thinking Batman :p I must be Batgirl I had to read that 3 times before I understood what you meant :p
     
  17. SF

    SF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2005
    Posts:
    7,515
    Likes Received:
    57
    Come on Chris your not getting enuf sleeep :p
     
  18. yesterday United Kingdom

    yesterday Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2006
    Posts:
    598
    Likes Received:
    16
    your default nameserver should probably be name drive instead of s edo because namedrive will keep the revenue in a separate account until you enter the domain name into the nameserver system and then credit you with that revenue backdated, whereas s edo last time I checked, just keeps the revenue.

    - worth checking this as its only from memory.

    yesterday
     
  19. SF

    SF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2005
    Posts:
    7,515
    Likes Received:
    57
    Yup ND all the way for me for a far superior personal service.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page