Domain Manage

Eclipse ,any good ?

Discussion in 'ISP' started by inshallah, Jun 16, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. inshallah

    inshallah Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2005
    Posts:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good morning
    Does anyone on here know of the ISP Eclipse, and if so are they any good and what is their support like ?.

    Cheers
     
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
     
  3. BFTUK

    BFTUK Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2006
    Posts:
    888
    Likes Received:
    10
    Highly recommended.

    I use them in my office.

    Support is good. If there is a problem you usually can't get through because other users are reporting it.

    The only time i have spoken to them they were very efficient and got the problem sorted in 30 seconds.
     
  4. tifosi United Kingdom

    tifosi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2004
    Posts:
    3,128
    Likes Received:
    45
    very good. Not the cheapest. I use for work/vpn. No port blocking as far as I can see, and a static IP. Very good when I recently moved house. Billing software could be better.

    S
     
  5. rob

    rob Founding Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2005
    Posts:
    5,953
    Likes Received:
    68
    Likewise v.good, I know several who use them including myself with no problems so far (touch wood).

    They have recently been taken over by Kingston I think (not 100% on this) but does not seem to have affected service.
     
  6. inshallah

    inshallah Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2005
    Posts:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Great, thank you for the information. By chance, do they give out static IP's ?


    Cheers
     
  7. invincible

    invincible Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2005
    Posts:
    4,108
    Likes Received:
    81
    If you want one, or two, they'll allow you to have them. You can also change them in your control panel. If you want a range, you have to justify why via a RIPE form.

    Personally I think Eclipse have gone down hill. They are one of the original "proper" ISPs, however a lot of people complained at the performance of the MaxDSL product when they changed to it from Flex. You might like to consult the Eclipse forum on www.adslguide.org.uk for more user accounts of the ISP.
     
  8. inshallah

    inshallah Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2005
    Posts:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have any of you on this thread got static IPC's with eclipse on which you host a website , and more to the point are those static ip's reliable enough ?

    Cheers
     
  9. invincible

    invincible Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2005
    Posts:
    4,108
    Likes Received:
    81
    You don't host a "reliable" web site on the end of a broadband connection.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page