Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.

Free Amazon Echo Dot

Reaction score
Has anyone seen and entered any of these promotions ?

The current one is a free Amazon Echo Dot but seems there have been loads and they account for Amazon's massively growing Echo Skills.

https://developer.amazon.com/en-gb/alexa-skills-kit/alexa-developer-skill-promotion

I bought an Echo and Dot on prime day, set them up on Saturday, wrote my first Skill Sunday and submitted it, all on a Language I have never coded in before. Not sure if its been accepted yet, but seemed easy enough.

Interesting. I still haven't thought of any reasons I'd find it useful enough to overcome the issue of having a computer listening to me in my own house, but maybe one day...

My plan was to make localised services, you can run anything you want on your own account without Amazon Certs.

There is some interesting points about using one in your car.

Those with Kids may find it useful, from anywhere in the world you can turn your kids lights off, disable their games system etc heh.

Forgot to turn the cooker off ? Alexa app.

Lots of usages, but given I like coding its this of a Pi or Arduino and this was easier and doesn't require my ape hands to solder heh.

I got my free echo dot, a white one to go on the white fireplace under the TV and sound bar.

It took me about 1 day, using a language I'm not totally comfortable with (Javascript, I'm comfortable with basic website stuff but not really full apps) using a framework I've never used (Node.JS). I literally got the Echo Friday, app was researched and developed in 3 days.

There is another competition for an Echo Dot and Developer Goodies including limited edition Socks which are sending people crazy, I'm just about to finish my domainer based app and submit it.