Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.

Hand regging is not dead

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
Hi all,

I've noticed many domainers saying things like "hand regging is dead", "why do you think that domain is still available in 2014?", etc. I disagree with these statements.

First of all a bit of background.

I've been an active member at Acorn for a couple of years now but have been active in domaining since 2007. Strangely enough I started out in .com and it took me a number of years before moving over to investing in and focusing on .co.uk. It's taken me a long time (until recently) to realise that domains that may have x,xxx value in .com have no where near the same value in .co.uk.

When I started out in domaining I was a student and couldn't afford to invest in the after market (especially in .com's) and so hand regging and flipping was the way to go and until now actually 90%+ of all my domain sales have been from hand regges. I remember back in 2007 the first domain I registered for just a few dollars I sold a few months later for $xxx.

Recent sales

Fast forward to today and I am still hand regging and flipping domains. This month and December have been slow (only low £xxx in hand reg sales for both months), but in November and October I sold close to mid £xxx each month. I'm sure to some of you here these don't sound like amazing numbers but it's all about ROI. Of course I don't sell every domain I hand reg, I'd say on average the past few months it's been about 1 in every 5 domains hand regged I have sold but that 1 sale is still profit!

Here's some proper figures for you for the month of November 2013:

£45 spent on new hand regges.
£500 in sales with most of that from the above hand regges.

Types of domains I hand reg nowadays