Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.

Making Profitible MiniSites

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
This is obviously one of the most over asked questions but I'm going to ask anyway.

Recently I've been thinning out some of my domains to concentrate on ones that could be turned into profitable mini sites. However I'm not a web designer/developer so am not sure of how to start or the best platform (if any) to use (i.e. word press etc).

Also I'm not sure whether to go for an affiliate type system or just aim for Google Adsense?

Finally are there services available who can pull together this stuff on your behalf (i.e. individuals with experience in mini sites who can put one together for a fee)? Would this be the decent route to go down for someone with limited time to actually put into putting some online.

Any advice would be useful :D

Make a basic two to five page site with unique content and some decent graphics if you can, put some adsense on it and a few affiliate links, amazon will do...make a bit of effort on SEO, title, description meta tags etc...See how it does...If it makes more than parking then do the same with your others...

Use a basic wysiwyg editor, im sure someone will recommend one here. WP is a blogging, server hungry platform, not always SEO friendly...

I appreciate that you don't have much time but I would really encourage you to do it yourself.

I would follow nnh's advice but monetise through adsense, to begin with. If any domains show particular strength then you might want to spend a bit more and get that one developed by a web designer.

Even something very basic should be enough to get you started.

I have been experimenting with a HTML editor from PageBreeze.com (I think I downloaded it from PageBreeze Free HTML Editor - Free software downloads and software reviews - CNET Download.com) which is not bad.

Happy to help if you need more advice.