Domain Manage

myaffsite.co.uk

Discussion in 'Mini Sites' started by springer, Jan 7, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. springer United Kingdom

    springer Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2008
    Posts:
    474
    Likes Received:
    7
    Has anyone had any experience with using myaffsite.co.uk?

    I thought it would be a better way to use my parked domains that relate to products.

    Good or bad experiences welcomed :)
     
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
     
  3. Systreg

    Systreg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2008
    Posts:
    6,586
    Likes Received:
    96
    I have been using the site since it was in beta testing mode, I have made £51.65 commission from the BMX Bikes site in my sig just in the last 12 days from 3 bike sales, I made another sale today, only £0.70 commission for a cheap item that was sold this time, but still, it's another sale and they all add up.

    Personally, I think it's a great site to use, I have added other domains to it, got 11 stores on their in total now and will be adding more. If you have a good traffic domain name you will certainly do better than parking.

    It's very easy to set a store front up, from adding your domain and pointing your nameservers to myaffsite, I can have a fully functioning site online in about 10 minutes, then just play around with the keywords to draw from the retailer feeds, excellent site, that's my opinion anyway.
     
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2009
  4. springer United Kingdom

    springer Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2008
    Posts:
    474
    Likes Received:
    7
    That is very good going. Looking at your BMX Bikes site, the site layout and design doesn't look at all bad.

    May I ask how you get traffic to your BMX Bikes site - is it organic through Google, advertising or links elsewhere? Thanks.
     
  5. Systreg

    Systreg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2008
    Posts:
    6,586
    Likes Received:
    96
    That's the thing, I have no idea where the traffic is coming from, I mentioned that on another post about the site on the link below, I have not done any advertising for it either, although all my bike shop links will soon be going on my cycle training site which gets a bit of traffic, so the traffic should go up even more then:

    http://www.acorndomains.co.uk/affiliate-marketing/45124-new-affiliate-shop-software.html#post161582

    The term "bmx bikes" got 246,000 exact searches in the UK last month, and 165,000 searches per month for the last year, so that's probably helping, and maybe people are doing searches for "bmxbikes" without the space. I now also have my bike sites linked to each of the other bike domains I have on myaffsite, so some traffic from those as well perhaps.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2009
  6. springer United Kingdom

    springer Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2008
    Posts:
    474
    Likes Received:
    7
    I will put a few sites on and see how it goes.

    Thanks for the link to the original post on myaffsite - hadn't noticed that.
     
  7. Systreg

    Systreg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2008
    Posts:
    6,586
    Likes Received:
    96
    Just had the first sale on my bike lights site which is also on myaffsite, made £0.53 commission, it's a start :D

    Was just checking a couple of my cycling sites, and bike lights is on page 4 of Google.co.uk for "pages from the UK", but my carbon bikes site is number on on Google.co.uk for "the web" and number 3 for "pages from the UK", mountain bike frame is also on page one for pages from the UK, so they will certainly help with traffic to all the linked sites :cool:
     
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2009
  8. fish United Kingdom

    fish Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2006
    Posts:
    2,725
    Likes Received:
    27
    have put a site up on it and it takes ages for the pages to load, too long for any surfer to wait IMO. anyone else experienceing this?

    thanks

    Fish
     
  9. springer United Kingdom

    springer Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2008
    Posts:
    474
    Likes Received:
    7
  10. boxerdog

    boxerdog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2007
    Posts:
    3,663
    Likes Received:
    33
    yer i gave it a go on a couple of my names, and didnt really like it much:sad:
    im not saying its bad, its just not for me.
    congrats on the sales Systreg;)
     
  11. rottensoundz United Kingdom

    rottensoundz Active Member Exclusive Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2008
    Posts:
    249
    Likes Received:
    7
    Try looking on yahoo Keywords = 'bmx bikes'


    Try looking on yahoo under the keywords 'bmx bikes' Your organic 9th on a full web search .... Congrats


    I Have Just Started using this service too.... I put 11 domains on 4 days ago so i doubt i have been noticed in the search engines yet,
    I put some traffic/backlinked domains on and some with out.
    I have had no sales yet but uniques on both are definitely up.......and i have not had time to optimise more than 2 yet so expect that to help.

    the thing i would say to people is be a bit patient with it as it is still Early days and the amount of customization that is on offer is bound to throw up a few teething problems here and there,the minor issuses i did have were all dealt with in one plesent feedback session

    Cheers John
     
  12. Systreg

    Systreg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2008
    Posts:
    6,586
    Likes Received:
    96
    Cheers Rottensoundz, you're right mate, I keep forgetting there are other search engines, I have Google on the brain :lol:, just checking some of my other bike sites on there, not bad results for some of those either and that would explain the traffic.

    My mountain bike frame site is number 1 on Yahoo search for "mountain bike frame" and "mountain bike frames", and my bike lights site is number 1 for "bike light" and number 2 for "bike lights", looking good.
     
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2009
  13. dashu1 United Kingdom

    dashu1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2008
    Posts:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    14
    Myaffsite seems to have stopped working.
     
  14. Systreg

    Systreg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2008
    Posts:
    6,586
    Likes Received:
    96
    @ Dashu, yeah, getting errors here as well, showing no products, menu, links etc on the sites, have you already sent Chris (greatestdomains) a PM about it? If not, I'll send him one.
     
  15. greatestdomains

    greatestdomains Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2006
    Posts:
    224
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi guys, Im working on the errors :)
     
  16. Systreg

    Systreg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2008
    Posts:
    6,586
    Likes Received:
    96
    Cheers Chris, while you're here, did you do that mass product update the other day? Only it's still not showing the 2009 bike ranges, for example, the Boardman bikes on my sites were still showing only the 2008 stuff yesterday, and the old higher prices, which are more than the prices on the Halfords site where 2008 bikes have £££ off now.
     
  17. greatestdomains

    greatestdomains Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2006
    Posts:
    224
    Likes Received:
    1
    yep that’s what I was doing this evening before this happened. New products will be up within the hour
     
  18. Systreg

    Systreg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2008
    Posts:
    6,586
    Likes Received:
    96
    Oh right, so you broke the sites then, hooligan :lol:, cheers for doing the product updates as well!
     
  19. dashu1 United Kingdom

    dashu1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2008
    Posts:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    14
    How do you get the menus down the left side, specifically to sort by manufacturer etc?

    And while I'm at it what are quick links? I've added loads & they don't show up anywhere. How do I activate them & where will they show up?

    And how about the nav bar? How do I increase whats available to put in the nav bar?
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2009
  20. Systreg

    Systreg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2008
    Posts:
    6,586
    Likes Received:
    96
    @ Dashu, go to "modules", and then go to "quick links", set the word for the link, and in the box next to it, put the keyword you want to show products for, you can only put one keywrod in the box, Chris said somewhere above, or was it on the other topic, that he would soon be making it so we could enter more than one keyword.

    [edit]

    I should have mentioned, first you will need to go to "design", then click "shop layout", tick the box for "links" under where it says left.
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2009
  21. dashu1 United Kingdom

    dashu1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2008
    Posts:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    14
    Cheers Systreg - but they don't show up - nada.

    Is that what you've got in the left side of your site? I seem to have a category box showing with some spurious entry to it that I can't change. You seem to be able to select umpteen categories but only 1 shows. Same for manufacturers but none show.

    Confused...

    PS - off to watch tv for half an hour I'll be back later.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page