Domain Manage

Virgin broadband dead

Discussion in 'ISP' started by aquanuke, Dec 18, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aquanuke

    aquanuke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2005
    Posts:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    34
    Anyone else got this been down for about 12 hours :)

    and wtf you have to pay to speak to them now!
     
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
     
  3. BFTUK

    BFTUK Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2006
    Posts:
    888
    Likes Received:
    10
    Mine was out for a couple of hours last night but a couple of reboots kick started it again.
     
  4. jwm

    jwm Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2007
    Posts:
    407
    Likes Received:
    5
    for the past couple of weeks my allegedly 8mb broadband has been running at dial up speeds. v frustrating, seems to be going down a lot as well.
     
  5. denchomsky United Kingdom

    denchomsky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2005
    Posts:
    1,770
    Likes Received:
    30
    Yep mines down in North London, has been since about 9pm last night, tried a couple of reboots but downpath still not showing on set top box.

    Good job I can pick up my neighbours high speed broadband on my macbook;)
     
  6. kennyboy

    kennyboy Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2007
    Posts:
    103
    Likes Received:
    1
    Mine was down for a couple of hours last night. Now its running at dial up speeds as usual! :( They cap it in the evenings too.!
     
  7. uglygit

    uglygit Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2007
    Posts:
    480
    Likes Received:
    4
    mine was down from around 7pm last night , was updating one of my arcades when the stoopid thing went down, fed up with virginmedia - keeps going up and down, If I see that branson guy I'm gonna give his goatie a good tug.
     
  8. admin Spain

    admin Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2004
    Posts:
    10,083
    Likes Received:
    115
    Same here, just as I was designing a website online too, grrrrrrrrrr
     
  9. aquanuke

    aquanuke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2005
    Posts:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    34
    Oh thats good glad everyone else has problems, nothing worse then being the only one.
     
  10. denchomsky United Kingdom

    denchomsky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2005
    Posts:
    1,770
    Likes Received:
    30
    Working now, hope your's is Aqua;)
     
  11. SecNam

    SecNam Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2004
    Posts:
    5,127
    Likes Received:
    37
    same here, really annoying. since virgin took over its all down hill i think.
     
  12. aquanuke

    aquanuke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2005
    Posts:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    34
    Cheers yep back in action again
     
  13. retired_member3

    retired_member3 Retired Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2007
    Posts:
    1,002
    Likes Received:
    10
    I can't complain with sky for a fiver apart from having to reboot the router every so often.
     
  14. GreyWing

    GreyWing Retired Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2006
    Posts:
    4,068
    Likes Received:
    59
    Unfortunately you guys are right, Virgin have ruined what used to be a good system.

    It's always my mail that goes missing or dial up speed broadband.

    Plus now it costs you 25p a minute to talk to some Indian Call centre about the problem.
     
  15. accelerator United Kingdom

    accelerator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2005
    Posts:
    7,397
    Likes Received:
    109
  16. SecNam

    SecNam Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2004
    Posts:
    5,127
    Likes Received:
    37
    yes i was thinking that what is the best, any ideas...been told the mobile 3g is good
     
  17. retired_member27

    retired_member27 Retired Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2005
    Posts:
    708
    Likes Received:
    13
    I've been using T-mobile broadband for a while now and never had any problems. I did a little review on it here.
     
  18. Jeewhizz

    Jeewhizz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2006
    Posts:
    1,177
    Likes Received:
    18
    A good friend of mine uses his T-Mobile 3G datacard as his main internet connection, and doesn't have any issues.

    I have never had any broadband issues, but then again, I don't rely on a tv company to provide my internet ;)
     
  19. admin Spain

    admin Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2004
    Posts:
    10,083
    Likes Received:
    115
    Anyone know what the best package is if you travel abroad a lot?

    Just had a data download bill for £400 for 54MB :( ouch
     
  20. aquanuke

    aquanuke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2005
    Posts:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    34
    I use a payg t-mobile sim and have a pcmia laptop card, cost £1 if I use it otherwise nothing. Its good but still prefer my superduper broadband as long as it works.. which has been crashing every few hours since coming back :(
     
  21. paulc United Kingdom

    paulc Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2006
    Posts:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    UW offer blackberry at £22 a month, and includes unlimited internet roaming worldwide, and 20,000 emails per month. They were also voted number one in the recent Which magazie report.

    Check them out over at Utility Warehouse
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page