Domain Manage

Meta Title Won't Update!

Discussion in 'SEO Search Engine Optimisation' started by Marcoose, Jan 28, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Marcoose Netherlands

    Marcoose Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2010
    Posts:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    17
    For some stupid reason, Google won't pick up my meta title. I've tried 2 different SEO plugins, different themes and they won't have any of it. It is just picking up the URL "key word" which I don't understand.

    Does anyone have any ideas?
     
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
     
  3. MOGmartin

    MOGmartin Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2012
    Posts:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    check the robots.txt file isnt preventing the spider from seeing the page. failing that post the URL and I will take a look for you!
     
  4. Marcoose Netherlands

    Marcoose Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2010
    Posts:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    17
    Cheers mate. www.financialtrading.com. It has been like that since I owned the online trading website and I don't know why. Sorry had to throw some relevant keywords in there ;)
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2013
  5. MOGmartin

    MOGmartin Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2012
    Posts:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its too long, so google will either add an elipsis at the end or choose what it perceives to be a more relevant title.

    In your case the use of the pipe delimeters pretty much forces googles hand into choosing something else (pipes denote keywords, keywords == spammy).

    The title should be a title, ie. what you would call your website if it were a book, not a series of keywords you want to rank for.

    Did your site used to be called day trading btw?


    advice: 1) cut down the length, 2) remove the pipes and keyword stuffing, 3) add a meta noodp tag (probably irrelevant but reinforces that you want to choose your own title). 4) while you're at it, change the alt text of your logo to be "financial trading"..
     
  6. Aegean

    Aegean Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2011
    Posts:
    752
    Likes Received:
    16
    I ran a search for your title contents on Google and it came up with your site, displaying it as below, so it does know about your title.

    If you made fairly recent changes it could be a delay in datacentre updates.

    I hope that helps.
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2013
  7. MOGmartin

    MOGmartin Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2012
    Posts:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    its still showing the elipsis, so still shorten it.
     
  8. Aegean

    Aegean Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2011
    Posts:
    752
    Likes Received:
    16
    I agree, I think he thought Google wasn't picking it up, as he said in his OP, so I was showing him Google did log his title tag.
     
  9. Marcoose Netherlands

    Marcoose Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2010
    Posts:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    17
    Cheers for the feedback guys. I've shortened it and hopefully it will be picked up! I've never had this problem before though even when titles have been too long so am not holding out much hope.
     
  10. MOGmartin

    MOGmartin Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2012
    Posts:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dont worry about it, it will change to what you put, as long as what you put is relevant. G have started playing fast and loose with titles in the last couple of months. It used to be that they would (almost) always put what you suggested unless it was listed on an odp site - since mid to late last year they take a best guess regardless of what you want. In most cases its improved, not however in yours.
     
  11. gordi555

    gordi555 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2006
    Posts:
    162
    Likes Received:
    3
    Check from a 3G query on your phone. Google likes to play around with the cache.
     
  12. max99x United Kingdom

    max99x Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2006
    Posts:
    1,383
    Likes Received:
    30
    I had a site and changed the meta title... 18 months later Google still has the old title... only happened on this one site but it just hasnt ever changed, it is an old site like been around for 6 years.
     
  13. namdas

    namdas Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2008
    Posts:
    105
    Likes Received:
    5
    Sometimes they will pull the title from a heading tag or anchor text to explain why they are ranking a page for a query when those search terms aren't immediately obvious in the title - its a bit of a cheap trick to make Google appear more relevant :)
     
  14. Marcoose Netherlands

    Marcoose Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2010
    Posts:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    17
    Yeah this site has been around for years too. Don't know if I can deal with this being a permanent problem though!
     
  15. Aegean

    Aegean Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2011
    Posts:
    752
    Likes Received:
    16
  16. Marcoose Netherlands

    Marcoose Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2010
    Posts:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    17
    a) It's not in DMOZ yet so it can't be.

    b) Perhaps but I wouldn't know what could be caussing this.

    c) It could be using what it deems to be suitable but that really doesn't help me lol

    If you can get your head around it then it would be very appreciated cos the title they're using now really doesn't catch the eye!
     
  17. MOGmartin

    MOGmartin Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2012
    Posts:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you've shortened it to something more relevant, thats all you need to do. And wait.

    Seriously, that is IT.
     
  18. Marcoose Netherlands

    Marcoose Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2010
    Posts:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    17
    Weird, after months it has changed even though the title is still too long and barely different from the one I changed it from!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page