Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.

Your thoughts on .co.uk domains these days

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

Quite a long post but I am new to domaining, I wanted to explore because it sounded like something to keep me occupied in my spare time and with the costs of everything going up maybe it could provide a few extra pounds for nice things. Whilst I have been reading and researching as much as I possibly could, I feel as though I am coming to the conclusion that domaining in the UK or should I say for .co.uk is something of a non starter these days and I wanted to get some other peoples opinions on this.

I liked the idea of looking at expired domains, looking for the hidden treasure, and using dropped.uk and their drop lists I found it addictive looking through lists of .co.uk domains to try and find ones that may be of interest.
As with anything new, I wanted to get stuck right in so I signed up with 123-reg and registered a few domains. Probably a little hastily!

1. My first was one that I just liked the sound of. And still do like the sound of so I might keep it and develop it in to something one day!
2. I went with a one word domain, all be it a fairly long word that is fairly specific and is not a highly serached word!
3. A two word domain that sounded like it had real potential
4. A two word domain which had a high search keyword but maybe the words did not really fit together quite right
5. and lastly an AI domain as that seems to be the thing this year!

As a naive first timer, I am strating to think that the ones I got are not really worth much. I was never expecting to start selling domains for £1,000's but I thought that I could get some expired ones and sell them for £100. But I guess they have probably expired for a reason!