Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.

New Project – which domain to develop

Reaction score
New project to start in Sept... Just wondering which domain to go for, and if anyone has any suggestions of what to do with them.

.co.uk
Directory
Flights
TravelMoney
Universities

.com
PhoneInsurance

I appreciate you all have your own domains to think about – but thought I'd just see if anyone is happy to share any words of inspiration or advice!

I think directory has the most development potential. Maybe on subdomains - you could have cities, job categories, institutions, societies etc all from a main page.
eg london.directory.co.uk , plumbers.directory.co.uk , hospitals.directory.co.uk , morrisdancers.directory.co.uk etc Lots of cross-selling opportunities, advertising revenue, listing revenue, page hosting revenue, etc. If subdomains aren't a good thing (I have little SEO knowledge) then just a format directory.co.uk/london/blah blah

Years ago I used to have a site that made good commission from flight affiliates. However industry wide there seemed to be a halt to flight booking affiliate fees. Unless you have a good affiliate I don't know where you can take it beyond a hotel booking engine (so many already around)..

Travelmoney seems limited in potential.

I don't see how you could monetise universities and if you went for a directory....well... universities.directory.co.uk

PhoneInsurance - not something I know anything about. Seems a bit niche to me but maybe I'm just not thinking outside the box.

Depends what kind of site you want and how you want to monetize it. Eg: Do you want an aggressive affiliate site, easy ranking info site, direct sales etc..

Directory is a bit 2010 if you're talking about an old school directory of websites. DMOZ was shut down, even BOTW have changed their business model. Should be good indicators that's not worth it.