Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.

Nominet EPP & DAC Guides

Reaction score
Does anybody know of any guides to using both EPP and DAC?

Preferably with BASH, PHP or C?

Thanks

Have you any knowledge of programming?

I have basic knowledge of BASH & C (and I mean basic), with a working knowledge in PHP. Most of what I have programmed in the past, have been simple database web scripts, I have never needed to progress further than that.

I learnt what BASH and C I needed to manage Apache, and set-up vhosts and things like that, never really went much further as I had PHP for the rest.

What are you confused about exactly?

DAC: I have figured out how to Telnet into the DAC server, and that's helpful, but I need to be able to process the data into a file, for further checks, and this is where I am confused, how to I pipe the data to a txt file, or is Telnet the wrong way to go.

If so, just point me in the direction of the correct program, and I'll figure the rest out.

EPP: I have no idea where to start here, I am reading up on XML, and I'll figure something out from there, when the time comes, but for now, I am more interested in checking domains, than registering them.

From your reply, I'd suggest that you are not ready to be programming to the levels needed. I'd read up on network socket programming and see how confident you feel with it. In simple terms you open the port, write to it and read the response then deal with the response however you see fit.

Nominet do not provide any code samples, they expect you to roll your own and most here who have done so will keep cards close to their chest as I'm guessing most have only written their code for catching purposes. If you understand network programming, then it's really quite simple to code something.

So what code do catchers need to be most proficient in these days? Scripts made entirely of c++, php, a mix, or something else completely?