Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.

Question

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
Hi guys, i was just wondering what your thoughts were about putting numbers, letters and hyphens in domain names?
Any help would be great as i am new to this!

Thanks

Hi guys, i was just wondering what your thoughts were about putting numbers, letters and hyphens in domain names?
Any help would be great as i am new to this!

Thanks

Your aim is to register generic terms based on highly searched keyphrases. So, this is a good domain name:

mortgages.co.uk

Anyone can register domains with added numbers, so this isn't valuable:

mortgages10.co.uk

Generally speaking search keyphrases are good, e.g.

fixedratemortgage.co.uk

with this type of domain, buying the hyphen separated may be worthwhile:

fixed-rate-mortgage.co.uk

but the non-hyphen separated is more valuable.

Rgds

Thank you for your help!!
I have quite a few domains and am thinking about selling some, how easy is it to find someone who wants to buy?

Regards

I don't like numbers, check out http://www.domainprices.co.uk and see what sells and for how much.

Most big value names contain no numbers, no hyphens, and usually no more than 2 medium length words or 3 short words, there exceptions to this tho.

Also think plaurals are more for directories rather than a solo entity.

For example...

MoneySupermarket is 1 person.

MoneySupermarkets is more a directory or about supermarkets.

Oh names prefixed with e, i and the, ie

iSupermarket
eSupermarkets
theSupermarket

Are risky but sometimes do sell high.

Oh Bugger, i was gonna renew f1 and f-1 today, may as well let them drop :p

If only I had taken some advice like that all those years ago, when registering pretty much anything that come into my head, heard on the news, rhymed or just looked half decent had me cards out.