Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.

Attracting The Attention Of End Users

Status
Not open for further replies.
Quote SDSINC

"I also think that domainers overestimate the potential of the market, it's a tiny market and the demand cannot absorb the demand. Domainers have the best intentions and they are ahead of their times but it does us no favor when the rest of the world is stuck in 20th century thinking. Maybe we are the misfit "

I have to disagree with this view of the market. The market is enormous, it hasn't even been scratched. Domainers are mostly not salesmen by trade and are therefore left with domains that they were inspired to register but are unable to sell. Most domainers are good at doing the easy part, that's registering the names, but become cynical when trying to sell the names or transfer there ideas to end users. Selling is the most difficult of all jobs but is the most financially rewarding, so therefore the skills involved are worth learning.

Last edited:
From long experience, including fairly substantial physical presences at Internet World in 2008 and again in 2009 (including the distribution of 22,000 leaflets) that involved actual costs in excess of £20K, plus mainstream ads placed in some targeted magazines and trade journals, other smaller online/physical ads etc., it's pretty close to impossible to educate the "mainstream" into buying aftermarket domains.

Probably the best you can hope for is to catch a few waverers on the periphery and convert them to the idea, using appropriate sales material, case studies, 3rd party data and the like. But the best sales tool has been and will always remain having domains that people actually WANT TO BUY.

Everything else is secondary - if a name is desirable enough people will find you regardless. And no amount of heavy lifting will shift a dud, regardless of how much banging of the "generic domain name" drum goes on.