Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.

Disclosure Of Information Prior To Purchase

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm not a legal expert and haven't had this myself, but I would imagine Nominet wouldn't want to know. They are only concerned with who the registrant is, not who did or didn't say what to who.

I wouldnt see any reason why he would have have to tell you any history on the domain name unless you ask him upfront about it.

I wouldnt see any reason why he would have have to tell you any history on the domain name unless you ask him upfront about it.

Agreed - asking history etc ought to be on the list of questions to ask / get checked out .

As for solving the problem , it seems by renegotiating that will have things covered.

It does crop up from time to time, generally on traffic stats being overinflated and the like.

I agree, I didn't think nominet would want to get involved though was not sure if there was anything written in the small smallprint to safeguard someone against such an event.

Your right, there is no reason to 'tell' anyone about the history but was wondering if this example fell more into the 'disclosure' of very relevant details that would more than likely effect the new owner (as it had gone legal).

Hello by the way..

Michael

The price of a domain for sale might be higher, based on traffic. It is up to the buyer to check if traffic is genuine.

A seller should answer any questions honestly and complete the transfer. Claims by a third party against the seller are not inherited by the buyer, but any buyer should be aware that abusive use of a domain will invite remedial action.

Keys hello,

Obviously as this did not happen it is only my curiosity thats asking the questions. So what if:

The name was non TM'd and there were no obvious signs of passing off