20i Domains

1and1 problems

Discussion in 'Domain Name Registrars' started by FutureDomain, Aug 13, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. FutureDomain

    FutureDomain Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2007
    Posts:
    488
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hi guys

    Is anyone else have inssues ordering another domain on 1and1, I keep getting 500 Internal Server Error, they have missed out on about ten domains (reg elsewhere instead) in the last week, just wondered if anyone else is having the same problem.
     
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
    articles.co.uk
     
  3. ukdomains United Kingdom

    ukdomains Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2007
    Posts:
    502
    Likes Received:
    7
    I wouldn't want to buy domains through 1and1.

    They bill you for ghost domains !

    Then send the outstanding amount to a debt agency
     
  4. Skinner

    Skinner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2008
    Posts:
    4,665
    Likes Received:
    140
    I wouldn't touch 1 and 1 with Jordan's, run like feck!
     
  5. bensd United Kingdom

    bensd Well-Known Member Acorn Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 2007
    Posts:
    5,146
    Likes Received:
    74
    I think the moral of the story is... don't register your domains through 1&1!
     
  6. scooter United Kingdom

    scooter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2006
    Posts:
    2,022
    Likes Received:
    41
  7. FutureDomain

    FutureDomain Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2007
    Posts:
    488
    Likes Received:
    6
    I know what you mean, I have had loads of issues, I use a few others as well now, but I have a few hundred with then and if the one I'm regging fits in the same profile I keep it in with that contract, can't now though, keep getting this strange error, I started using Daily recently and they have been really good too
     
  8. 3AC United Kingdom

    3AC Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2009
    Posts:
    108
    Likes Received:
    1
    1&1 Service

    Yeah lots of people. About 80 on my blog alone

    http://www.3ac.co.uk/1-and-1-internet-are-a-disgrace

    Feel free to have a read through

    Best

    Gary

     
  9. bedazzledaz United Kingdom

    bedazzledaz Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2005
    Posts:
    327
    Likes Received:
    2
    I've got a problem with 1&1 with regards nameservers, when I change the nameservers of a domain held by 1&1 it often results in an error leaving my domain with a "there has been a domain registration error" error message thus rendering my domain unusable, I've had this problem since February now, I am now emailing them every day with a balance of lossed earnings that I will invoice them with :)
     
  10. 3AC United Kingdom

    3AC Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2009
    Posts:
    108
    Likes Received:
    1
    There is no quick solution I found

    It took me 6 months to get a penny out of them and the dashboard is still messed up. I had all sorts of issues with named servers and them trying to opt out my domains whois when they all should have been out in. Nominet kpt contacting me saying they'd blocked my account because of 1&1...it was ridiculous

    I have now moved all of my uk domains to Domain Monster

    I finally got joy when I managed to get to one person at 1&1 on a personal level who was sympathetic to the situation...but it shouldn't have to get that far. They had cocked up at every available opportunity and not once did I get an email or letter apologising. That's what annoys me the most.

    GT

     
  11. bedazzledaz United Kingdom

    bedazzledaz Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2005
    Posts:
    327
    Likes Received:
    2
    I am able to use my domains if I delete them from 1&1 then have to pay £12 at nominet to attach a registrar, if I attach 1&1 as the registrar and then request the domain at 1&1 then everything is fine.

    With doing that they then charge me again for the domains, they have credited them when I complained but they make out they are doing me a goodwill by crediting the charge when it's their fault in the first place.
     
  12. DarrenTSO United Kingdom

    DarrenTSO Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2010
    Posts:
    155
    Likes Received:
    3
    1&1 are notorious for detagging rather than completing a transfer out, I've raised this with Nominet before and they're looking in to the manner in which detagging can/should be used. At the moment, 1&1 use it almost as a punishment for people wanting to move away...
     
  13. lancsman

    lancsman Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2011
    Posts:
    48
    Likes Received:
    1
    I too have been having problems with 1and1 in terms of 'Internal Server Errors'. In fact it was searching for information on the problem that brought me to Acorn Domains - and what a refreshing forum this is.

    I was trying to re-direct a couple of Domains to the SEDO Parking facility through the 1and1 link and getting the '500 Server error' all the time.

    I raised this with them on Sat 13 Aug and since then have been either waiting - or responding to questions I have already answered. I am on my third respondee and at last there seems to be some progress - although not yet fully resolved.

    The are certainly not proving the most responsive company I have ever dealt with - which is a pity really as a few years ago I found them most hepful.

    For others similarly impacted I would recommend you keep banging away at them - highlighting the impact they are having on your business, the time and effort you are having to expend, and the damage to their reputation they are causing by their inaction.

    Hopefully I will have more positive news soon.

    Regards

    John

    P.S. - OK from reading the threads over the past couple of days I know 1and1 and SEDO are not the favourite organisations amongst this community, but restarting in this lark after a long break I started from the point of where my dormant domains were registered, and services they offered. I will no doubt learn from the experience !!!!
     
  14. bedazzledaz United Kingdom

    bedazzledaz Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2005
    Posts:
    327
    Likes Received:
    2
    Unfortunately they don't care about that, I email them every single day and just get the same crap response no matter what I say to them, I include a total that I am going to invoice them for loss of earnings too, which I will submit monthly.
     
  15. lancsman

    lancsman Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2011
    Posts:
    48
    Likes Received:
    1
    Bedazzledaz,

    Your comments are proving only too true.
    Another 24 hours on and I am now on the 5th person to have responded to my original query.

    Their last reply suggested that I was mainly at fault for 'not giving them a clue' as to the specific destination location of the re-direct in my original note.

    As I had (at that time) only raised an issue with the fact that an option from one of their Control Panel pages was not working, I am not sure I see the connection.

    Never mind - Far too much time spent on this.

    The only piece of good news is that the work-around has now worked and the Domains have now correctly loaded in SEDO. I just need to play with the optimiser a little.

    Hi Ho.
    Regards

    John
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.