Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.

Help with Domain name purchase and rental

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
Hi,

I am new to this to I apologise if this is in the wrong area.

My partner has share in a Ltd company (10%), the other two directors have 45% each. One of the directors has purchased the domain name hometeam.co.uk for a fee of $5000 and has decided (without consultation) to rebrand the website with the new domain (was previously a uk.com).

He has decided that the company will rent the the co.uk site from him for £300 per month.

There is no domain rental agreement in place; he's just set up a standing order from the account.

My partner thinks this is excessive and wanted some advice.

She has not seen any documents to show how much the co.uk site was purchased for and cannot find it anywhere online.

Can anyone offer any advice on where to find this and also if £300 a month is realistic or excessive.

.co.uk is a step up from .uk.com

The price paid for the name is a bit high

£300/mo is excessively high, both in general and versus the purchase price.

Why is the company not just reimbursing the purchase expense? £3,300 or thereabouts.

.co.uk is a step up from .uk.com

The price paid for the name is a bit high

£300/mo is excessively high, both in general and versus the purchase price.

Why is the company not just reimbursing the purchase expense? £3,300 or thereabouts.

He will not allow them to do this which for some reason. He seems to think if the company grows it will be more valuable and therefore he can charge more rent each month.

Where can I obtain a fair appraisal of a monthly rent? Sorry if I appear dim, I have just no idea on this.

He will not allow them to do this which for some reason. He seems to think if the company grows it will be more valuable and therefore he can charge more rent each month.