20i Reseller Hosting

To park on own landing page?

Discussion in 'Domain Parking - General' started by SecNam, Jul 13, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SecNam

    SecNam Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2004
    Posts:
    5,231
    Likes Received:
    48
    Would like peoples thoughts on what to do with unused domains. Setup own landing page or park on somewhere like sedo etc. If you park can you list who you park with then i can see options.

    thanks in advance.
     
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
    articles.co.uk
     
  3. tifosi United Kingdom

    tifosi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2004
    Posts:
    3,424
    Likes Received:
    55
    Have my own db generated landing page. Tracks visitors, has my adsense & affiliate widgets.

    Based on google custom search with suggested searched based on the category.
    Ajax contact form.
    sale/guide price

    e.g. sportsconnection

    Makes more than parking at sedo/ND? Yes.
     
  4. fish United Kingdom

    fish Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2006
    Posts:
    2,725
    Likes Received:
    27
    That's a nice set-up :D did you self build or outsource?, if the latter roughly what £ range did it cost? (if you don't mind me asking)

    To OP. I use SEDO but looking for alternatives :)
     
  5. tifosi United Kingdom

    tifosi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2004
    Posts:
    3,424
    Likes Received:
    55
    Self built. MySQL db with a few tables. PHP. Trickiest thing was the apache. Essentially parking the domains on top of one domain and then having a single folder with the php/db stuff in. Filters the output by domain/category.


    Once I've finished the domainstudio plugin I may add the functionality as a module.
     
  6. Blossom

    Blossom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2010
    Posts:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    57
  7. Aaron Clifford

    Aaron Clifford Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2010
    Posts:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    126
    Really well done mate, Looks good. Might have to take a few ideas from that for the future!
     
  8. Brassneck United Kingdom

    Brassneck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2005
    Posts:
    3,122
    Likes Received:
    32
    One thing I notice from a lot of these home made lander pages is a lack of Privacy Policies. This is a requirement of Google Adsense and I think not having one could risk all your domains associated with your Adsense being dumped from the Google Index.

    Stephen.
     
  9. Admin

    Admin Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2004
    Posts:
    10,863
    Likes Received:
    326
    Great work dude, congratulations. Makes me want to do the same things with mine now as so many idle domains (that were parked with Google until they shut that down)

    Admin
     
  10. Edwin

    Edwin Well-Known Member Exclusive Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2005
    Posts:
    9,889
    Likes Received:
    566
    Isn't this an issue, from Google's Adsense T&C:

    https://www.google.com/adsense/localized-terms
     
  11. tifosi United Kingdom

    tifosi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2004
    Posts:
    3,424
    Likes Received:
    55
    Interesting points.

    Did have one somewhere. Think it got lost in an update. I'll add it back.

    I'm not convinced I'm breaking those. The search box is as it is from the adsense source, nothing is changed except for the increased box sizing & letter colouring which is allowed. The google icon is the primary requirement. The search results are shown as required by google by inserting into a preselected div on the search page without any modification.

    The 'suggested searches' is essentially no different to the way google work except I'm providing search phrases instead of autosearch. The phrases aren't href links so can't be indexed as such or triggered by bots. They're inputted into the search box via jQuery on the user actively selecting the phrase i.e. human input. The only grey area I see is that it auto triggers the search selection after filling the box. It originally just filled the box and then the user clicked the search. Maybe I was being a bit too clever there. I'll probable change it back to doing that and putting the focus on the search button instead. It would allow for editing of the phrase.

    These refer afaik to post triggering of the search to google, not for the actual filling of the search box pre search. I only provide category based search selections. The 'human' choses whether to use them or search on their own, which a large proportion of searches has shown they do anyway. Some weird searches as well I may add!

    Any other suggestions?
     
  12. tifosi United Kingdom

    tifosi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2004
    Posts:
    3,424
    Likes Received:
    55
    I've got a few ideas for enhancements to this. Just not had time/incination to do them. E.g. category templates, search box by category - you can do this I think with the search box via keywords, though can't do it with the pure adsense blocks.

    Come up with enough decent ideas and I'll do them and package the source up into something usable for your own use.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.