20i Reseller Hosting

wordpress how to set posts to be expanded on my news page

Discussion in 'Content Management Systems' started by justwondering, May 13, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. justwondering United Kingdom

    justwondering Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2010
    Posts:
    286
    Likes Received:
    2
    doh , i'm such a newbie !!! please help ,i'm using wordpress , i would like to be able to post news articles that show on my choosen page :-

    http://www.show-plates.com/news/

    but i would like them to be expanded rather than just a link , showing the full article .

    any pointers on how to do this please.
     
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
    articles.co.uk
     
  3. seemly

    seemly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2011
    Posts:
    1,278
    Likes Received:
    215
    if your lucky, the theme you are using may have settings to allow for that.
    Unfortunately, if the theme does not allow for this and you are no PHP guru, you will either have to pay for someone to sort this, learn PHP yourself, or just accept it is what it is.
     
  4. AssetDomains

    AssetDomains Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2010
    Posts:
    3,075
    Likes Received:
    74
    What theme are you using is that a professional one theres probably an option some ware in there control panel to allow this
     
  5. running_bear

    running_bear Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2011
    Posts:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi i think you are looking for an accordion effect

    have a look at this plugin

    jQuery Accordion Category Posts

    let me know if fit for purpose, if not can dig deeper for you


    __________________________________________________
    databasepublishing pdfcontrol contentcontrol​
     
  6. seemly

    seemly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2011
    Posts:
    1,278
    Likes Received:
    215

    In order for a jquery accordion to work the article content would have to be there in the first place... Which it isn't.

    This is what the OP is actually asking for (I think...)?
     
  7. running_bear

    running_bear Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2011
    Posts:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    yep I think you are right - :-?
     
  8. fresh79 United Kingdom

    fresh79 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2008
    Posts:
    463
    Likes Received:
    5
    This page looks like you are using an "archive loop"
    take a look at the template you are using for this page and replace the loop with a simple default wordpress loop like this one
     
  9. justwondering United Kingdom

    justwondering Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2010
    Posts:
    286
    Likes Received:
    2
    hi guys , thank you for your replys ....

    I might not of worded my needs correctly.....basically a wordpress site is for blogging....

    but how do i simply just blog on wordpress ? i would like to simply write a new post , hit the post button and my article will appear on my choosen page , so one page of my wordpress is just full of blog / news stuff and not just a link to the post........

    sorry for the pure newbieness
     
  10. AssetDomains

    AssetDomains Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2010
    Posts:
    3,075
    Likes Received:
    74
    It looks as though your using a custom template so the answers not quite as simple as it might be most custom templates have a user control panel were you can control such things.
    Alternatively you would have to modify one of your template files which file exactly varies from theme to theme
     
  11. mat United Kingdom

    mat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2007
    Posts:
    3,913
    Likes Received:
    111
  12. golddiggerguy United Kingdom

    golddiggerguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2007
    Posts:
    3,638
    Likes Received:
    28
    Create a page called Home and a Page called News then go to Settings - Reading and then select the drop down static = Home and posts = News

    Simples?! :wink:

    Hope that's what your after.
     
  13. mat United Kingdom

    mat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2007
    Posts:
    3,913
    Likes Received:
    111
    ^^^^^ Or that :)
     
  14. dashu1 United Kingdom

    dashu1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2008
    Posts:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    14
  15. justwondering United Kingdom

    justwondering Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2010
    Posts:
    286
    Likes Received:
    2
    its a learning curve, your right, the site and content has too much keyword cramming.

    I don't really have the time to write the content.

    I guess paying for well written content is the way forward.
     
  16. djbw United Kingdom

    djbw Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2010
    Posts:
    163
    Likes Received:
    4
    This!

    Just write like you're writing for humans, not for Google! They are the ones who you want to use your site. In my inexperienced opinion, it's probably best not to ever have content like that in case some kind of penalty is incurred. If you were to come across a site reading like this, would you think it was safe to put your credit card details in? No offence meant...
     
  17. dashu1 United Kingdom

    dashu1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2008
    Posts:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    14
    Imagine you have a close friend sat opposite you and write as though you're having a conversation with them - excluding expletives, etc.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.