20i Domains

Alexa Compatible lights etc

Discussion in 'The Bar' started by Adam H, Dec 28, 2018.

  1. Adam H

    Adam H Well-Known Member Exclusive Member

    Joined:
    May 2014
    Posts:
    1,716
    Likes Received:
    259
    Missus got me a little Alexa Dot for a Christmas present, I use amazon prime alot so works well with linking into my music etc.

    Would like to get some remote lights but brought some and then found they needed separate hubs . Is that the best way to go ? Should i buy a bunch of philips hue lights and hub and then make sure I always buy the same brands or are there better ones available ?

    Thinking of getting some other gadgets to link to it as well like doorbells / camaras etc but I don't want to buy bloody hubs for everything so ive got 30 different apps on my phone.

    Whats the best, easiest and cost effective to get a remote home setup working with Alexa ? I think I've only got the Echo dot 2nd Gen if that makes a difference.
     
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
    articles.co.uk
     
  3. Skinner

    Skinner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2008
    Posts:
    4,666
    Likes Received:
    140
    I have some inline alexa switches which you can pull out your existing light switch, wire it up, and they sit inside your wall, so you can convert anything.

    I have also found buying bulbs easier where its the bulb which is alexa based not the switch, these are great when you get the W+RGB, any colour, any brightness, transitions the lot.

    Let me find some links :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Skinner

    Skinner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2008
    Posts:
    4,666
    Likes Received:
    140
    These are the modules, you can wire them into anything...

    https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B078TCRC8K/?tag=acorn06-21

    The LOHAS lights are RGB+W.
    https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B01MRQU465/?tag=acorn06-21

    And these plugs
    https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B07D7BH6N8/?tag=acorn06-21

    None of these needed a hub, I have a first gen Echo, and 2nd gen dots, no hubs at all.

    You can control these via the amazon app on your phone/tablet, and you can convert amazon tablets into Echo Shows now with show mode, so a decent tablet case with a stand and show mode and your good.
     
    • Winner Winner x 1
  5. Adam H

    Adam H Well-Known Member Exclusive Member

    Joined:
    May 2014
    Posts:
    1,716
    Likes Received:
    259
    Didnt realise you could do inline ones as replacement light switches, I was mainly replacing the lamps in the house at the moment as we use lamps more than the main room lights. Also like the idea of changing all the lights to LED as the ones I've tried today actually produce better light and im guessing they cost alot less in Electricity.........and last ALOT longer than a normal bulb.

    Agreed id much prefer to connect bulbs and devices directly, instead of using a hub. I thought id be able to do that with this :

    https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B07FL46ZTJ/?tag=acorn06-21

    But Setting it up it just wouldnt connect to my router so after an hour I gave up and its being sent back tomorrow lol.
     
  6. Adam H

    Adam H Well-Known Member Exclusive Member

    Joined:
    May 2014
    Posts:
    1,716
    Likes Received:
    259
    Nice much cheaper than most ive been looking at as well, Philips Hue seems to be what most go for bub seems pricey to do alot of bulbs.
     
  7. Skinner

    Skinner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2008
    Posts:
    4,666
    Likes Received:
    140
    With your bulb have you got it in setup mode ? (flashing on and off) and have you turned 5ghz off ? If you have 5ghz running they get confused even if they use different names, easier to run it in 2.4ghz mode. Once its setup turn 5ghz back on and its fine.

    Also are you setting up using the lights app not the router or alexa app ?

    Most use eFamilyCloud, eWeLink, TuyaSmart apps but there are other apps, only use the app for manual control and setup, which is rare.
     
  8. Adam H

    Adam H Well-Known Member Exclusive Member

    Joined:
    May 2014
    Posts:
    1,716
    Likes Received:
    259
    Ah I do have 5GHz running ( although different name ) as I use it for some devices in the house to reduce conflicts ( like games consoles work much better with 5GHz ). I was connecting the bulb using the bulbs app to set it up, clicked the light on and off 10 times to get it to reset, then it flashes to say its ready. It done the first part of the setup where my phone talks to the bulb on its own wifi, then when trying to apply the Wifi routers settings to the bulb it just kept saying it couldnt connect. If I could actually get it connected to the wifi im sure it would connect to Alexa just fine.

    I even brought the lamp down 2ft away from the router like the instructions said during setup but that made no difference.
     
  9. RobM

    RobM Retired Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2012
    Posts:
    3,289
    Likes Received:
    470
    In our house we have a little white box fixed to the wall. I found that if you push a small protrusion on it the lights come on. Pushing it again and they go off. :) The really cool thing is, if you haven't got your phone to tell you the state of the lights, when the lights are on you can see and when they're not it's dark. I may patent it.
     
    • Funny Funny x 3
    • Winner Winner x 1
  10. Skinner

    Skinner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2008
    Posts:
    4,666
    Likes Received:
    140
    When using the bulbs app, the app connects to your Wifi, then you log the bulb into your wifi, they don't have their own per se. Echo has its own Wifi Hub but thats it.

    So at the moment, you can connect to the bulb from the phone app ?

    Thats the bulb effectively set up.

    I'm guessing the problem is you can't get Alexa to connect ? You have to say Alexa Discover New Devices, it will scan the network to find anything new.
     
  11. RobM

    RobM Retired Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2012
    Posts:
    3,289
    Likes Received:
    470
    Mine also works remotely with a slap round one of my children's head and an instruction 'put the lights on'. The slap is optional but I like to keep them guessing.
     
  12. Skinner

    Skinner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2008
    Posts:
    4,666
    Likes Received:
    140
    Malta is moving on from the flint, wicks and wax :p

     
  13. RobM

    RobM Retired Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2012
    Posts:
    3,289
    Likes Received:
    470
    We're getting running water next year. Seriously though Alexa would be wasted here - people would just throw it at each other or eat it (or blow it up if it asks too many questions).
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. Skinner

    Skinner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2008
    Posts:
    4,666
    Likes Received:
    140
    Damn, Malta will be one step ahead of Ireland, @Systreg still has a well to draw his water from :p

    The best use I've found for alexa bulbs has been the timers, christmas lights on and off and lights, while not at home, more security minded than lazy... honest :p

     
  15. Adam H

    Adam H Well-Known Member Exclusive Member

    Joined:
    May 2014
    Posts:
    1,716
    Likes Received:
    259
    I like the idea of reduced electric usage and the continuous need to buy new bulbs, some of our lamps seem to blow every month where as the LED ones we have already have been going years and not once needed to be replaced ( plus some bulbs kick out so much heat it starts to melt the lamp shade LOL )
     
  16. dee

    dee Well-Known Member Acorn Supporter

    Joined:
    May 2013
    Posts:
    2,347
    Likes Received:
    347
    Have you seen the new Alexa for senior Citizens.... it's brilliant

     
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2018
  17. Skinner

    Skinner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2008
    Posts:
    4,666
    Likes Received:
    140
    @Adam H did you install the Bulbs Skill in the Alexa App ? I didn't think to ask, you have to install the matching skill for the app.
     
  18. Adam H

    Adam H Well-Known Member Exclusive Member

    Joined:
    May 2014
    Posts:
    1,716
    Likes Received:
    259
    Yeah I did bud, but it wasnt at that stage because the bulb wouldnt connect to the wifi, it would need to be connected to the wifi before alexa's app would recognise it. I've sent them back now and brought a load of the LOHAS ones :) hopefully will be here tomorrow
     
  19. Adam H

    Adam H Well-Known Member Exclusive Member

    Joined:
    May 2014
    Posts:
    1,716
    Likes Received:
    259
    @Skinner, those Lohas are great. Setup wifi pretty much instantly and the Tuya app linked to Alexa with no prob's . Going to buy some more for some other rooms :D
     
  20. Skinner

    Skinner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2008
    Posts:
    4,666
    Likes Received:
    140
    @Adam H awesome, if you use the App, there is a brightness option, you can see the standard white which is the soft orange/yellow type, then turn the brightness up and its daylight. I'll have to take a picture of the alternatives. I bought a few different ones but the lohas has been far the best of the pick.
     
  21. Adam H

    Adam H Well-Known Member Exclusive Member

    Joined:
    May 2014
    Posts:
    1,716
    Likes Received:
    259
    @Skinner Yeah got the brightness etc summed up. Only thing that is a little annoying is some bulbs not having the same colour range. So the E27's have more "whites" than the E14's , which is fine until you have both lights in the same room and try and change the group/room to white. For some reason it Alexa doesnt recognise the E14's white and so it doesnt change with the rest of the room. It does for every other colour but just not the white, which i assume is because the E27 has different whites.

    Only a small flaw though, just means if you change then away from the default white, you have to change that 1 lamp back on its own instead of using a group/room command.