20i Reseller Hosting

Who's Using Fresh Store Builder?

Discussion in 'Fresh Store Builder' started by Alien, Nov 25, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. careybaird

    careybaird from Fresh Store Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 2010
    Posts:
    116
    Likes Received:
    3
    This is actually a great point, which I haven't said much about. As most people here are domainers you will most likely have had other software or websites on the domains you are using for FSB.

    If the sites were thin then it is likely Google will take more time to trust your new site.

    There is no reason why the latest version would be causing you any problems and I advise strongly against using v2.4.0 as there are many improvements in v2.5.0.

    The template issues are known and will be addressed in the coming version :cool:
     
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
    articles.co.uk
     
  3. roydovaston United Kingdom

    roydovaston Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2007
    Posts:
    247
    Likes Received:
    2
    Got my first site live although i must admit it's going to take longer to get the rest of the categories in place. The site is Travel Guides Books

    Is anyone using the inbuilt spinner? I'm interested in it but wanted to know what other people's opinion of this feature? Does it work, is it worth the money?

    Thanks

    Roy
     
  4. Alien

    Alien Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2006
    Posts:
    6,019
    Likes Received:
    63
    Looks good Roy, well done and good luck with the site. :)
     
  5. fish United Kingdom

    fish Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2006
    Posts:
    2,725
    Likes Received:
    27
    the site is taking a massively looong time to load :confused: like the use of monochrome for the header though
     
  6. MikeJDS

    MikeJDS Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2009
    Posts:
    583
    Likes Received:
    11
    Loads fine for me.
     
  7. Jamie101 Netherlands

    Jamie101 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2012
    Posts:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    16
    Same for me. Took so long that I couldn't even have a look at the site (tried twice!).
     
  8. roydovaston United Kingdom

    roydovaston Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2007
    Posts:
    247
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks for the feedback - i'm not experiencing any problems that I know of on my server. It's only 1 of 3 sites on my VPS!! The other site is www.aimeesboutique.co.uk... Could you let me know if that site is running slow or taking a long time to open up?

    Thanks

    Roy
     
  9. Jamie101 Netherlands

    Jamie101 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2012
    Posts:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    16
    That's working fine, nice iPhone site by the way :)

    The travel guide books one is working for me now without being slow so maybe it was just a once off thing!
     
  10. Alien

    Alien Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2006
    Posts:
    6,019
    Likes Received:
    63
    Roy - it could be this.
     
  11. fresh79 United Kingdom

    fresh79 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2008
    Posts:
    461
    Likes Received:
    5
    What if the site was previously on page 1 position 1? Should there be any reason, other than google does not like it, why the homepage is no longer indexed and only an internal page is indexed at position 65!?
    And do you have any idea why lots of pages are coming up with a redirect loop error?

    Perhaps google is penalising them for not loading fast enough. I cant even get Yslow to work with the stalfoshop theme to track down the problem? it just stalls trying to load all components.




     
  12. belovedAunt

    belovedAunt Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2011
    Posts:
    27
    Likes Received:
    1
    Almost finished my next site. It's not live yet but the standard FSB 'site coming soon' holding page is #1 on G for the EMD search (for logged-out browsers too). The 30 page site is all original content - custom descriptions, Meta info, Privacy, T&C, Basket pages. Doesn't use any of the inbuilt 'purchase the famous...' style templates.

    It's a new domain that's never had anything else on it.

    Fingers crossed it will still rank #1 when Google gets a look at the live site...
     
  13. chippyb United Kingdom

    chippyb Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2011
    Posts:
    765
    Likes Received:
    7
    Just thought I would say after a long month of trying loads of things my site has come back to one of its rankings in google, just need to get the others back now.
     
  14. careybaird

    careybaird from Fresh Store Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 2010
    Posts:
    116
    Likes Received:
    3

    Where is the redirect loop error - in Google Webmaster tools? If so that needs sorting out. It could be that Google is still looking for pages from your old site - you need to do 301 redirects of the old page URLs to relevant new pages (or serve a 404 error).

    To test your speed try the following:

    https://developers.google.com/pagespeed/
    http://tools.pingdom.com/fpt/
    http://www.websiteoptimization.com/services/analyze/

    They will all give you slightly different info and a different way of looking at the speed of your site.
     
  15. careybaird

    careybaird from Fresh Store Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 2010
    Posts:
    116
    Likes Received:
    3
    Great news and thank you for posting - I appreciate you updating everyone on your rankings :cool:
     
  16. shane8960

    shane8960 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2010
    Posts:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Care to share the changes you have made that you think may have helped? I really want FSB to work and think its a great piece of software, but at the minute every site I have used it on has tanked.
     
  17. boxfish United Kingdom

    boxfish Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2010
    Posts:
    990
    Likes Received:
    59
    My site has started ranking again now.

    Haven't done a single thing to it apart from wait it out. I think it's down to moving from an old site to a new site and only 301'ing certain pages, it just threw up loads of unreachable pages due to robots.txt and took a while to respider everything and get the new layout sussed.
     
  18. chippyb United Kingdom

    chippyb Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2011
    Posts:
    765
    Likes Received:
    7
    That wasnt the same issue for me as the domain did not have a site on it before,
     
  19. boxfish United Kingdom

    boxfish Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2010
    Posts:
    990
    Likes Received:
    59
    Didn't say it was. Shane has asked you on the post before me though so if you'd like to share what helped you then feel free.
     
  20. shane8960

    shane8960 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2010
    Posts:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Could be I guess. I've put one of the sites back again (I left the database intact when I removed it, just moved the files so each enough to put back). Probably wont do me any favours going HTML > FSB > HTML > FSB but nevermind. Will leave it and see what happens.

    I started going through the template and cleaning up some of the little errors (W3C and SEO). Hopefully it'll come back at some point, but not holding my breath - its not got a single page in the top 200 for the EMD at the minute.
     
  21. chippyb United Kingdom

    chippyb Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2011
    Posts:
    765
    Likes Received:
    7
    Oh Right sorry yea,
    I wish I could give some info into what help as I ended up doing loads of different things, and who knows what acutally gave it the kick back,

    But things I did do was as shane has done, gone through the code and fixed alot of issues, thank god it was php, saved alot of time on fixing alot of pages,
    I fix things like no alts and changed the tags around so there wasnt 14 h1 tags on a page, etc, did a little bit on link building and changed the content on the site so it came first instead of images, and added another 2000 words

    Just all the simple stuff really that i didnt do before as the site was ranking well and didnt need to, I still do not have all my rankings back, I only have 1 of 4 1st back in google, the rest still havent really moved. Im letting the site settle a couple a weeks before I do anything again this time around.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.