20i Reseller Hosting

Can a non-UK person buy .uk domain?

Discussion in 'Domain Name Disputes' started by meslam123, Jul 21, 2017.

  1. meslam123

    meslam123 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2017
    Posts:
    368
    Likes Received:
    27
    Hi, I had registered both .co.uk/.uk for domain name with fake uk address so Godaddy today sent me this massage

    "Dear ---

    The .uk registry, Nominet, requires domain owners to maintain accurate and up-to-date contact information for their database. This includes name (or company name) and address information.

    They've been unable to verify some of the information you've provided. Please update the contact name and address for the following domain(s) today: ----.co.uk , ---.uk

    If your contact information hasn't been validated in 23 days, your domain may be suspended. Take care of it now to avoid any interruption to your website or email service."

    I tried changed the whois address to my Aramex London PO address do you think they will discover that it's a PO address and what to do any one outside uk use away or specific address and not discovered by nominen t!!
     
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
    articles.co.uk
     
  3. Lovekraft United Kingdom

    Lovekraft Well-Known Member Full Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2010
    Posts:
    1,563
    Likes Received:
    73
    Yep a non UK individual can register a .co.uk domain.

    You should have just used your real address.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Lucky Luke United Kingdom

    Lucky Luke Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2005
    Posts:
    713
    Likes Received:
    14
    But I think you need a UK address of some kind to reg the .uk

    It could be a service address, I believe.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Lovekraft United Kingdom

    Lovekraft Well-Known Member Full Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2010
    Posts:
    1,563
    Likes Received:
    73
    Yeah that's right, I meant he should have used his Aramex address first time around. Not sure if a PO is allowed though.

    Federer seems to just use the hosting providers address.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. invincible

    invincible Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2005
    Posts:
    4,260
    Likes Received:
    93
    • Like Like x 1
  7. meslam123

    meslam123 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2017
    Posts:
    368
    Likes Received:
    27
    yes. i should have done that but i forget that i own i Aramex address address my hope now they not discovering that it's a PO address as it's looks like they not allowing .uk domains with PO.

    can you please type the mean points which may help me as there is a lot of information in nominent pages :D
    where to get a service address ???
     
  8. invincible

    invincible Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2005
    Posts:
    4,260
    Likes Received:
    93
    You are permitted to use a PO Box address with a .co.uk or other third level domain name. These domain names do not require an address for service.

    You are not permitted to use a PO Box address with a second level .uk, even as the address for service.

    Perhaps try ScanMyPost.co.uk to obtain a UK address which can be used as the registrant address and/or as an address for service if you're using a foreign address with a .uk.

    Some registrars may not support service addresses.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1