Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.

Change glue record

Discussion in 'General Board' started by lazarus, Feb 7, 2022.

  1. lazarus

    lazarus Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2013
    Posts:
    1,485
    Likes Received:
    409
    Hi.

    Does anyone know how to modify the IP of a glue record. I created the glue record via the Nominet back end but I cannot seem to edit it.

    Cheers, Colin
     
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2022
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
    IWA Meetup
     
  3. Systreg

    Systreg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2008
    Posts:
    8,110
    Likes Received:
    397
  4. lazarus

    lazarus Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2013
    Posts:
    1,485
    Likes Received:
    409
  5. webber

    webber Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2019
    Posts:
    766
    Likes Received:
    235
    For this operation it's actually much easier in the command line because you don't have to query the registry to obtain an ID like you would with a contact, for example.

    $ openssl s_client -connect epp.nominet.org.uk:700

    Login and then you can update the host:
    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="no"?>
    <epp xmlns="urn:ietf:params:xml:ns:epp-1.0"
      xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance"
      xsi:schemaLocation="urn:ietf:params:xml:ns:epp-1.0 epp-1.0.xsd">
      <command>
       <update>
         <host:update
           xmlns:host="urn:ietf:params:xml:ns:host-1.0"
          xsi:schemaLocation="urn:ietf:params:xml:ns:host-1.0 host-1.0.xsd">
           <host:name>ns1.example.co.uk</host:name>
         <host:chg>
          <host:addr ip="v4">192.168.1.1</host:addr>
         </host:chg>
       </host:update>
       </update>
       <clTRID>ABC-12345</clTRID>
     </command>
    </epp>
     
  6. lazarus

    lazarus Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2013
    Posts:
    1,485
    Likes Received:
    409
    Thanks for that Ciprian,

    That was my next step is doing it by the GUI was not possible. Thanks again!