20i hosting

Changing from wp blog to static page

Discussion in 'Wordpress' started by doma1n, Aug 8, 2017.

  1. doma1n United Kingdom

    doma1n Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2004
    Posts:
    316
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hello,
    I need to change a WP homepage from a blog post page to a static page.
    Will this damage my site if i just change my reading setting from 'latest posts' to 'static page'?
    If it would, will i have to set up a redirect for each post individually or is there any way i can bulk redirect? (I have about 90 posts) If individually, any plugin recommendations? I've read somewhere that the plugin 'redirection' is the best. Anybody got any good advice before I commit.

    Thanks in advance

    John
     
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
     
  3. dazc United Kingdom

    dazc Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2008
    Posts:
    231
    Likes Received:
    11
    Just to clarify, you have a traditional WP homepage with x number of latest posts plus pagination of 'next page' or '2','3','4', etc?

    You want to change this to a standard customised 'homepage'?

    Short answer is that it will probably not make much difference if, like most WP sites, the bulk of your traffic and rankings are coming from individual posts anyway.

    You could mitigate any ill effects by linking to your strongest posts from the homepage also.
     
  4. doma1n United Kingdom

    doma1n Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2004
    Posts:
    316
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hello Dazc,
    Thanks for the reply.
    Yes it's a traditional posts homepage. I want to create a static homepage and put all my posts under blog page.
     
  5. dazc United Kingdom

    dazc Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2008
    Posts:
    231
    Likes Received:
    11
    Are all the posts in one level url like:
    yoursite.com/this-is-a-post
    or
    yoursite.com/category/this-is-a-post

    If they are in a category you could just change them all to a new category called 'blog'. Wordpress would then create the redirects internally. (You might have to remove the 'category base' if you have a standard set up but there is a simple and effective plugin for that).

    Would this affect your current rankings, yes it would but not long-term.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. doma1n United Kingdom

    doma1n Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2004
    Posts:
    316
    Likes Received:
    6
    Yes all my posts are on yoursite.com/category/this-is-a-post. You say put them in new category called 'blog' but would I get same results with creating a page called 'blog'? And put them all there. Would that would work also?
    What would be my category base be and what plugin would you recommend?
    Thanks again Dazc,
     
  7. dazc United Kingdom

    dazc Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2008
    Posts:
    231
    Likes Received:
    11
    In .../wp-admin/options-permalink.php you can change the category base from'category' to 'somethingelse'. This can sometimes result in pagnation errors though so I would thoroughly test this method with your set-up and theme before relying on it.

    You can remove 'category' altogether with https://wordpress.org/plugins/no-category-base-wpml/
    I have used this for years with no issues.
    (For avoidance of doubt, this is where you have yoursite.com/category/category-name/this-is-a-post, it just removes the first 'category')

    Some themes and frameworks handle the 'blog' archive differently so you may be able put everything in a blog page. Test this though because, again, pagination can cause issues. I develop using Studiopress and I never use their blog template as I have never been able to get a faultless result.

    Sorry if this ads further confusion. Maybe worth waiting to see if anyone else has another approach before you dive down this rabbit hole. :)
     
  8. Robert Smith United Kingdom

    Robert Smith Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2016
    Posts:
    36
    Likes Received:
    2
    You can remove 'category' using yoast otherwise the suggestion above breaks the pagination