20i Reseller Hosting

How to SEDO self-verify with Nominet

Discussion in 'Sedo' started by Admin, Apr 4, 2016.

  1. Admin

    Admin Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2004
    Posts:
    10,803
    Likes Received:
    294
    Surprised this hasn't come up here before. I've just had some emails from SEDO parking asking me to verify ownership of UK domains. It seems the slickest way is to start doing the self-verification by adding an ID they give you to a DNS txt record of the domain https://sedo.com/member/ownership_verification.php

    Can anyone tell me how to to do this at Nominet in Web domain manager?
     
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
    articles.co.uk
     
  3. martin-s United Kingdom

    martin-s Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2012
    Posts:
    3,339
    Likes Received:
    226
    Nominet don't provide your nameservers. That's where you need to add the TXT DNS.
     
  4. martin-s United Kingdom

    martin-s Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2012
    Posts:
    3,339
    Likes Received:
    226
  5. Admin

    Admin Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2004
    Posts:
    10,803
    Likes Received:
    294
    I think you might be confused.
     
  6. Admin

    Admin Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2004
    Posts:
    10,803
    Likes Received:
    294
    With parking you don't have to bother with hosting, simply set the nameservers at your nominet managed domains to SEDO. There is no txt field there though so perhaps its not an option at Nominet, bit of a hole that for SEDO. Seems its back to the other long winded options of screengrabing contact details and sending them to SEDO for checking.
     
  7. invincible

    invincible Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2005
    Posts:
    4,260
    Likes Received:
    94
    Since you are the Registrar (not Nominet) it's up to you to provide your Registants (again you but wearing a different hat) with nameserver facilities or tell them to go to a nameserver provider for it.

    Solution is either to transfer your domain names to another registrar which does offer nameserver facilities or find a DNS provider (probably with a nice control panel rather than something more complicated) which will probably charge. DYN managed DNS or DNSmadeEasy for example.

    Sedo and other parking companies allow you to use their name servers but they don't offer the ability to edit the zone records to add your own data.
     
  8. Admin

    Admin Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2004
    Posts:
    10,803
    Likes Received:
    294
    So that's a no then, thanks.
     
  9. martin-s United Kingdom

    martin-s Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2012
    Posts:
    3,339
    Likes Received:
    226
    It's not a "no", it's a fundamental misunderstanding of what Nominet does. All it does it allow you to specify the nameservers where your DNS is stored.

    It's the nameservers themselves that provide the DNS records, which is where the TXT records go.

    Rackspace is the best option by far.
     
  10. Admin

    Admin Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2004
    Posts:
    10,803
    Likes Received:
    294
    I understand, thanks.
     
  11. invincible

    invincible Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2005
    Posts:
    4,260
    Likes Received:
    94
    Are you aware of any product/app that integrates with Rackspace DNS negating using their Cloud DNS control panel to manage zone data?
     
  12. Edwin

    Edwin Well-Known Member Exclusive Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2005
    Posts:
    9,815
    Likes Received:
    537
    • Like Like x 1
  13. martin-s United Kingdom

    martin-s Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2012
    Posts:
    3,339
    Likes Received:
    226
    Just build your own using their api? We did this and it isn't difficult.