20i Reseller Hosting

IT services required please

Discussion in 'Services Wanted' started by philiporchard, Apr 26, 2019.

  1. ian

    ian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2008
    Posts:
    3,870
    Likes Received:
    271
    Not helpful at all, but who is the manufacturer of the pre-fab office? I want one!
     
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
    articles.co.uk
     
  3. philiporchard United Kingdom

    philiporchard Well-Known Member Acorn Supporter

    Joined:
    May 2007
    Posts:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    123
    Hi Ian, Podspace. One of best decisions we've made!
     
  4. philiporchard United Kingdom

    philiporchard Well-Known Member Acorn Supporter

    Joined:
    May 2007
    Posts:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    123
    Thanks for all the suggestions and helpful ideas.

    I logged into router this morning and switched to 5g and 802.11a only

    wifi-settings.png


    Kept my fingers crossed, but it appears this wasn't the issue.

    In fact download speeds now less than upload speed.

    new-office.png


    Tried plugging mac directly into router, but wasn't managing to get a connection that way.

    My best bet is get a professional who knows what they are doing - but finding one is the problem!
     
  5. boxfish United Kingdom

    boxfish Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2010
    Posts:
    1,036
    Likes Received:
    80
    How about a local computer shop? They might not be able to run a new cable underground (if that is what is needed) but they should be able to diagnose what the issue is fairly easily (if they can get 100mbps internal from the same port then it's either the cable run or the router in the garden office)
     
  6. dee

    dee Well-Known Member Acorn Supporter

    Joined:
    May 2013
    Posts:
    2,026
    Likes Received:
    259
    If you can...try it without WPA mixed mode on and see what happens. I think that can sometimes force the router into 802.11g mode which limits out at 54Mbps apparently. Depends on your gear though.

     
  7. dee

    dee Well-Known Member Acorn Supporter

    Joined:
    May 2013
    Posts:
    2,026
    Likes Received:
    259
    Your also in 802.11a mode only it looks like.

    Try changing that
     
  8. philiporchard United Kingdom

    philiporchard Well-Known Member Acorn Supporter

    Joined:
    May 2007
    Posts:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    123
    Thanks for the suggestion.

    I've found a company called West Installations. They seem to get good reviews.

    Will let you know how I get on!
     
  9. Admin

    Admin Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2004
    Posts:
    10,905
    Likes Received:
    350
    In my experience when you see these speeds sitting right under 10mb its because you are using a device, router, network card, cable that is limited to 10mb and not a full gigabit performer... I bet you never see even 11mb if im right. Try a different router and device if you can...
     
  10. fuzzer United Kingdom

    fuzzer Active Member Acorn Supporter

    Joined:
    May 2013
    Posts:
    660
    Likes Received:
    50
    There’s a company called cortecit.co.uk based just down the road in Wilmington. If you’re still stuck they should be able to resolve the issue. Let me know and I can give them a shout.
     
  11. philiporchard United Kingdom

    philiporchard Well-Known Member Acorn Supporter

    Joined:
    May 2007
    Posts:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    123
    Thanks for all the ideas. Got a company booked for next week. Fingers crossed we'll be up to 200gb in no time!
     
  12. philiporchard United Kingdom

    philiporchard Well-Known Member Acorn Supporter

    Joined:
    May 2007
    Posts:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    123
    OK, now for an update!

    West Installations have just spent the last couple of hours here, and pleased to say we are now up to over 200Mbps in the office.

    They had to change the module at each end from Cat 5 to Cat 6, changed patch leads each end to Cat 6 and shortened cable from 98m to 72m.

    Some other bits and bobs too.

    If they send through a more detailed report, I may post it here - just for those who may be interested.
     
    • Like Like x 5
  13. wonder_lander United Kingdom

    wonder_lander Well-Known Member Full Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2009
    Posts:
    1,016
    Likes Received:
    88
    Great to hear you got it sorted
     
  14. philiporchard United Kingdom

    philiporchard Well-Known Member Acorn Supporter

    Joined:
    May 2007
    Posts:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    123
    I've updated the results if anyone is interested in taking a look.

    These show 5 tests, and the eventual pass on the final test.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Informative Informative x 1
  15. dee

    dee Well-Known Member Acorn Supporter

    Joined:
    May 2013
    Posts:
    2,026
    Likes Received:
    259
    Cool. Glad you got it sorted.