20i Reseller Hosting

The great big .uk Rights of Registration thread!

Discussion in 'Nominet General Information' started by ian, Jun 25, 2019.

  1. ian

    ian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2008
    Posts:
    3,820
    Likes Received:
    264
    Know that feeling well; my last (much later) svTRID caught the domain today!!!
     
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
    articles.co.uk
     
  3. dee

    dee Well-Known Member Acorn Supporter

    Joined:
    May 2013
    Posts:
    1,917
    Likes Received:
    224
    Still cant access live epp. IP been added for days now but still getting

    Script failed, likely cause is the recent addition of the IP address to the Nominet test bed due to the large amount of people currently setting up. Please try running the script in 60 minutes time again.

    Works immediately if i switch to test. Anyone else in same boat or have i screwed up somewhere ?
     
  4. Ben Thomas

    Ben Thomas Well-Known Member Full Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2018
    Posts:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    137
    Hey Dee, why not wait for the final release? Also, is the live RoR EPP on a different port? Maybe you need to open those on your firewall? My issues was ConfigServer blocking port 700 and the port for DAC
     
  5. dee

    dee Well-Known Member Acorn Supporter

    Joined:
    May 2013
    Posts:
    1,917
    Likes Received:
    224
    Cheers Ben. Ports are same as test EPP ( arent they?) which has been working fine . 700 and 3043 ? Although is DAC even needed?

    I'm just trying to make sure I have a connection. This has been a massive learning curve for me so trying to get ahead of the game.I'll need to be good to go before the day as being nimble with Linux servers is defo not my bag :) Amazing @Aaron Clifford has been very patient and helpful.
     
  6. Ben Thomas

    Ben Thomas Well-Known Member Full Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2018
    Posts:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    137
    Hey, at least you've learned something new! :) Also. not entirely sure what's going on with DAC, I mean, it's included in the script but who knows. I'm waiting until the final release, will set it up on cron then and fire off 9 a ̶s̶e̶c̶o̶n̶d̶ minute, and hope for the best. It'll be fun for 60 seconds or so I imagine, lol.
     
  7. dee

    dee Well-Known Member Acorn Supporter

    Joined:
    May 2013
    Posts:
    1,917
    Likes Received:
    224
    Absolutely. I've really got a lot out of it actually. Dealing with non-GUI and command line has been great to learn and gets the gears turning. Now after setting up and learning about NTP on server im wondering if I need to be working on getting better timing as I'm only within 7ms lol. Wondering if I'm banging first 9 in 7ms before names have dropped etc so with waste only decent chance which is first hit at 2oclock. Makes you appreciate the work and tweaking and nuance of microcode that goes into a good drop catcher.
     
  8. armistice United Kingdom

    armistice Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2009
    Posts:
    324
    Likes Received:
    30
    The live ROR EPP uses the live EPP settings not the Testbed settings so double check your live settings at nominet (ipaddress and passwords)
     
  9. dee

    dee Well-Known Member Acorn Supporter

    Joined:
    May 2013
    Posts:
    1,917
    Likes Received:
    224
    Will do. I have about 3 times, but my muppetry knows no bounds.
     
  10. ian

    ian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2008
    Posts:
    3,820
    Likes Received:
    264
    ror-epp.nominet.org.uk (port 700) and dac.nominet.org.uk (port 3043)

    Make sure you correct not just the config.php file, but also the dac.php and epp.php files within the app > nominet folder.

    Also make sure you are adding a RegistrantID from your live account, I.e. one of your contact addresses for an active domain on your tag.
     
  11. davedevelopment

    davedevelopment Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2009
    Posts:
    1,269
    Likes Received:
    61
  12. Ben Thomas

    Ben Thomas Well-Known Member Full Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2018
    Posts:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    137
    I don't think you're going to get better than 7ms. Unless you can get yourself a powerful VM inside Powergate, London. Which is not impossible, but probably expensive and overkill for this sort of script.
     
  13. ian

    ian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2008
    Posts:
    3,820
    Likes Received:
    264
    7ms is truly terrible. Even digitalocean droplets will get you 2ms; the most competitive sub 1ms.
     
  14. Ben Thomas

    Ben Thomas Well-Known Member Full Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2018
    Posts:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    137
    Yeah, it's terrible for someone who has spent hundreds of or thousands building a low level language drop catching script. I mean come on, nobody is expecting to catch anything really good with this code. There's all sorts of stuff you have to think about that's in between LON1 at DO and Nominet servers, let's be honest. Firstly DO has their own Firewall to think about, secondly the VM servers just ain't that good without spending $80 at least. Show me a 2ms DO VM please, and I'll be surprised. I'LL EAT MY HAT!

    EDIT: Just kidding. I'm eating my hat right now. Honest!

    My main server in LON runs at 1.29 ms
     
  15. ian

    ian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2008
    Posts:
    3,820
    Likes Received:
    264
    Well, not that I'd advocate them for reliable/stable use, but digitalocean droplets at $5/month achieve in the 2-3ms response time. Many other faster VPS options are available for a similar price.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. Ben Thomas

    Ben Thomas Well-Known Member Full Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2018
    Posts:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    137
    They are actually fairly stable. I spend about $80 a month for mine, I've then got a couple of other smaller ones for nameservers and some storage. Never had any networking issues etc. Uptime is consistent. I think a lot of it has to do with optimising the server and making sure it's secure enough.

    But anyway, @dee have you set this droplet up in the right zone? Should be LON
     
  17. dee

    dee Well-Known Member Acorn Supporter

    Joined:
    May 2013
    Posts:
    1,917
    Likes Received:
    224
    I am. Funny... i got rid of the initial ssl:// and now its changed to '
    Error logging into EPP, please check your config and Nominet settings.'

    my config is this :

    Code:
    <?php
    return array(
    
        'dac' =>
            array('host' => 'dac.nic.uk', 'port' => '3043'),
    
        'epp' =>
            array(
                'host' => 'ror-epp.nominet.org.uk',
                'port' => '700',
                'tag' => 'MYTAG',
                'password' => 'PasswordIsDefoNot1234',
                'liveRegistrantID' => '148--------blah',
                'testRegistrantID' => '148-----blah', // Max 16 characters, change this every time 
    DAC and EPP in app are same

    EDIT...certainly not complaining or trying to piss Aaron off. He's been amazing. Just been trying to work this out myself. Lol...thats gone well.
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2019
  18. dee

    dee Well-Known Member Acorn Supporter

    Joined:
    May 2013
    Posts:
    1,917
    Likes Received:
    224
    BINGO !!!!! i changed to

    ' ssl://epp.nominet.org.uk' as a lightbulb moment after your post and its worked

    Thank you !

    Edit. This is in config file for anyone else using Aarons script.
     
  19. wb

    wb Well-Known Member Acorn Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 2009
    Posts:
    2,201
    Likes Received:
    44
    This has been a real learning curve! :eek:

    Think I'm set up correctly with NTP, how do I find out what my response time is in ms?
     
  20. dee

    dee Well-Known Member Acorn Supporter

    Joined:
    May 2013
    Posts:
    1,917
    Likes Received:
    224
    ssh in and type : ntpstat

    That will give you your error. If thats what you meant ?
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  21. ian

    ian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2008
    Posts:
    3,820
    Likes Received:
    264
    Assume you mean changed to ssl://ror-epp.nominet.org.uk in the config, otherwise you are connecting to the wrong server.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1